Blood

February 14, 2010

…Blood never tasted so good…

As I ate this blood orange, I looked at the mirror only to find the reflection of myself eating what looked like an organ of some sort. I was freaked out by the redness of this fruit! Mother Nature is pretty morbid… but very delicious. Delicious, indeed.

And now, I’d like to present to you another addition of Toast Toppers:

Laughing Cow Wedge, Strawberries & Cinnamon and Avocado and Edamame Toast

One is like strawberry cream cheese, and the other is like a green blizzard of buttery smoothness. I may even like these toppings better than the last… perhaps.

DEFINITELY try these.

Happy Valentines Day. Have any special plans?

17 Responses to “Blood”

  1. Run Sarah Says:

    I love blood oranges – so sweet! I haven’t tried savoury toppings on toast before — the edamame looks intriguing!

  2. daintyvegan Says:

    I think I tried a blood orange once but can’t remember if I liked it or not. They’re a bit freaky to me too.

    Nice toast toppers! The strawberry one sounds good.. but I would have to try the other to form an opinion. Interesting though. 😉

    Happy Valentine’s Day! No real plans for me, just want to do things that make me happy today. 🙂

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    haha crazy food combos 🙂 love it!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. Jenny Says:

    true story: right when I saw your post title I immediately thought of Dexter. Oh, I’m addicted! Speaking of which – finished up season 4 this weekend. BIGGEST SHOCKER OF MY LIFEEEEEE!!! ACKKKKK!!!!! Now I don’t know what to do with myself. No more Dex until the fall 😦

  5. katie anne Says:

    does laughing cow taste like cream cheese? or is it like swiss cheese?

  6. kelli! Says:

    oranges of any kind are love. those toasts look delish. I’m a true nutbutter fan when it comes to toast. I just ordered some cinnamon vanilla sunflower seed butter,vanilla almond butter, honey roasted cinnamon peanut butter. all from naturally nutty. YUM! minus the fact my mom will think im nuts…

    wish i had your photography skills haha

  7. Emily Says:

    I’ve never tried a blood orange. Blasphemy – I know 🙂

    Your toast toppers look fab as usual.

    xoxo
    Happy Valentine’s Day!


  8. i’m all about strawberries & laughing cow toast, mmm!
    by the way i bought an avocado & i plan to try this avo + banana toast as soon as its ripe 🙂
    happy valentine’s beautiful!
    xoxo

  9. seekmyself Says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day, hun! I’ve never actually had a blood orange, but I’m definitely intrigued. Almost as intrigued as I am by the idea of cheese and strawberries… I think I’ll have to try that. You do manage to come up with some of the best toast topper combinations 🙂

  10. Lyss Says:

    holy crap. i read “blood” and then legit thought you posted a picture of your finger bleeding. i was like, damn, sam is ballsy.

    thanks for your sweet comment on my blog. hope you had a day full of hugs and kisses! xoxo

  11. kbwood Says:

    okay im craving strawberries like CRAZZYYYYY! now i gota get em asap!

  12. Mandiee Says:

    ah, mother nature has created some very lovely delicacies. once i found a strawberry that was literally heart shaped. love love love.
    happy valentine’s day!
    xox

  13. Rachael Says:

    I don’t know if I’ve ever tasted a blood orange. Considering it’s appearance, I have a feeling that if I did I would remember it! I don’t know if I’d be able to eat it now without pretending that I was a character from “Twilight” or something.
    Hope you had a fabulous Valentine’s Day!

    Rachael*

  14. Katie Says:

    I love your toppings posts! 🙂 They are giving me ideas…;)

  15. Karin Says:

    AVOCADO & EDAMAME??? What an amazing combo! Need to try that asap!

    Mmmm I love me some blood orange!

  16. Alison Says:

    omg the toast toppings are magnificent!
    i love spreading avocado on toast,
    and i’ve done strawberries and cream cheese on crackers,
    but this is definitely a step up!
    love it.
    oh the things we do with food… 🙂

  17. Rayna Sajdak Says:

    I’m experiencing a bit of problems reading the conclusion of the clause. The closing paragraph gets cut off halfway up. You should have a look at that.Nonetheless, the rest of the read was extraordinary!


Leave a Reply

