The Art of Blooking

February 10, 2010

I’m blogging, as I run back and forth from the kitchen to the table while simultaneously cooking dinner. Welcome, Blooking.  It’s a new art, one which I hope to master. Have you mastered the art of blooking?

This morning, I decided to take another whack at oatmeal… in hopes that my oatmeal cravings had not completely vanquished.

I made myself a beautiful bowl of Banana Oatmeal (half banana cooked in, the other half on top) topped with defrosted blueberries & a scoop of almond butter. Now that, my friends, is a scoop. Adorned with cinnamon, naturally.

It tasted as good as it looks; however, I think I’ll stick to variety for breakfast, not oats everyday. No offense to all my oat-lovin’ readers!

Last night, I tried something new with dinner:

Quinoa Polenta. I warmed it up in a pan, added a little milk to smooth it out, and proceeded to add spinach & garbanzos to the mix. Delish.

Topped with balsamic & mustard roasted brussels sprouts & red onion. How HEAB -ish does this look?

…speaking of supper, Dinner is served!
Egyptian Edamame Stew

Egyptian Edamame Stew. Let me know if you’re interested in the recipe!

17 Responses to “The Art of Blooking”

  1. Claire Says:

    Wow! I love all the words you invent! Blooking!?!? HEABish! Thanks more making me smile 😉

  2. daintyvegan Says:

    Blooking? Never tried it. When I make a post, that’s ALL I concentrate on.. that and the internet. I’m afraid that if I add another component to my blogging, then I’ll never get a post out! It already takes me over an hour because of my tendency to get distracted. Kudos to you though! Cooking AND creating a post at the same time.. something I can only aspire to do in the veeery far future.

  3. louisianagrown Says:

    I have to switch up breakfasts all the time so that I don’t get sick of the same thing. I just wasn’t cut out to be a hard core oatmeal freak. 🙂


  4. mm what makes it egyptian??
    please teach me the art of variety with breakfast!! (those oats still look amazing)
    happy wednesday, glad to hear you’re honing your blooking skills 🙂
    xoxo

  5. Emily Says:

    blooking – nice concept..never tried that 🙂

    your oats look fab and I LOVE POLENTA. Oh my, it is wonderful.

    xoxo

  6. seekmyself Says:

    My attempts at “blooking” have been met with various degrees of success… I either forget what I was going to write about, or I smell something starting to burn. Practice makes perfect though, right? 🙂

  7. Katie Says:

    Yummmm. I am loving all three of these dishes. Recipe, yes? 🙂

  8. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    change is always a good thing! glad you were able to enjoy your oats 🙂 you take gorgeous pictures, FYI!
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. Rachael Says:

    I’ve yet to attempt blooking. I’m open to it if or when the opportunity presents itself though! The name reminds me of spelunking though, which is definitely something I want to experience. 😉

    Rachael*

  10. Karin Says:

    So many amazing eats in one post! I’m almost overwhelmed ;). Oatmeal, quinoa (!!) polenta and edamame stew. Sounds amazing to me!

  11. rustique Says:

    Straight up blooking as I type.

    Quinoa polenta? I had no idea such a wonderful thing existed.


  12. Wow, quinoa polenta sounds like a really interesting concepts.
    I only usually eat polenta when my nonna cooks it for me and it’s my favourite food. I don’t think I could convince her to add quinoa to it (you know how grandmother’s are… set in their ways) but I’ll have to try that myself sometime!

  13. Gracie Says:

    YUM! I’ve never heard of quinoa polenta. But I love quinoa, and I love polenta, so I’m assuming I’d like it =)

    Love the blog, by the way!

  14. mayapamela Says:

    YES recipe needed! I can’t say I’ve ever had anything egyptian.

  15. Emily Says:

    Umm, that breakkie looks amazing. Love the pretty (and nutrient packed) blueberry + banana combo.

    Quinoa polenta? Sounds amazing!

  16. jenna Says:

    hey!
    i just came across your blog and i can’t wait to keep reading!
    i would love it if you could check out mine and follow 🙂
    jenna

  17. ellen Says:

    omg first pictures look amazing 🙂 this is my first time here so hey! xox


Leave a Reply

