My favorite toast toppers

February 8, 2010

My very favorite toast toppers are NOT butter nor jam, peanut butter nor jelly. They are an odd combination of gooey goodness that I find absolutely remarkable.
IMG_7256

Oroweat Sandwich thins, one with TJ’s Raw AB & banana, the other with shmeared avocado & banana. Served with cotttage cheese, blueberries, the rest of my banana, and a drizzle of agave for good measure.

Now, now, don’t be alarmed. I am not insane. Avocado (which in the past, was dubbed ‘Poor Man’s butter’) and Banana is a combination that, to me, parallels bananas and peanut butter.
IMG_7257

Savory. Sweet. Melt in your mouth goodness. I may be too excited about it, but that’s fine by me. Try it, please. Just take 1 avocado, slice desired amount. Spread, top, and conquer.
IMG_7258

I love Costco. Only there, am I made my berry happiest. (pun intended) $7.99 for 5lb of frozen blueberries is reason enough for me to endure the most crowded day the store probably has, the day before theΒ Super bowl. Plus, $3.79 for 40 oz of spinach ain’t bad either.

__________________________________________________________________
I brought this bar to school today:
Amazing Grass Berry Whole Food Energy Bar.
IMG_7260

This bar has the same overall review as my last review of the AG bars, texture and size wise. However, the more saturated, or intensified, ‘berry’ flavor in this bar was more of a con than a pro. It was a slightly fruitier version of the Original Whole Food Energy bar… not too impressive. The nutritional stats and ingredient lists of the AG bars is enough to stop any complaints, though!

______________________________________________________________________

What’s cooking in Sam’s kitchen tonight?
Sweet Potato Phone

My family will feast upon Β __________________ this evening. Any guesses? The ingredient list includes–but is not limited to–one large, phone shaped sweet potato, kale, and mozerella.

Any guesses?

12 Responses to “My favorite toast toppers”

  1. Eliza Says:

    ahh i love your toast toppers! i thought i was the only one that loved avocado paired with banana ;]!! it is so so good! i must have that soon, now that your post reminded me, and cottage cheese with banana and blueberries and agave sounds so good!…great toast toppers! and that pic of you with that sweet tater is so cute, you are gorgeous, and i love your hair by the way :]

    xx
    Eliza


  2. avocado & banana….i’ll trust you on this one. actually if you can tell me how in the world to store an avocado after its been sliced i promise to try it!!
    phone shaped sweet potato + kale + mozzarella = pizza? well obviously i have no idea haha
    happy monday crazy girl!!
    xoxo
    (ps i have not forgotten your cookie challenge!)

  3. Lyss Says:

    avocado and banana sounds freakin’ PHENOM! why haven’t i thought of that? your blog still remains one of my favorites, ps. πŸ™‚

  4. Jenny Says:

    though I am an avid PB&J toast topper — I do support your avocado and banana combo.. a.) because I love you and b.) it’s just effin’ genisu!

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    haha omg i never would have thought of that combo but i trust you girl πŸ™‚ you are so cuute..love hte banana picture!!

    xoxox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. rustique Says:

    Avocado is magnificent in butter’s stead (sometimes even way superior)–it just has that richness and a nice fruity hit towards the end.

    You are too adorable!

  7. seekmyself Says:

    I love avocado on toast, but I’ve never tried it with banana as well… It sounds amazing though, I’m totally going to give it a try πŸ™‚

  8. carrian Says:

    I think the banana and avocado sounds interesting! I love both so it’s worth a try

  9. Rachael Says:

    Avocado is one of my favorite (if not my favorite favorite!) toast toppers, but I’ve never tried it with banana before. I trust your judgement though and will definitely be giving it a shot in the not so distant future. πŸ˜‰
    I have never seen such an intriguingly shaped sweet potato!

    Rachael*

  10. Emily Says:

    avocado and a naner? girl, you are just too darn GENIUS πŸ™‚

    and I totally know what you mean about Costco’s blueberries…they are the best!!! And they come in those huge packages which is always a plus.

    I’m not sure what your pretty little head is up to with those ingredients – I can’t wait to find out.

    xoxo

  11. Verlie Vliem Says:

    Too good dude! I enjoyed!!


Leave a Reply

