Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

February 7, 2010

I was so excited this morning to have my first bowl of oatmeal since I was sick. I had blueberries & pear in mind, without a doubt. I dreamed of the blissful bowl of breakfast I’d dive into this morning. It looked a little like this-

(layered: frozen blueberries, oatmeal/cream of wheat mix, more frozen blueberries, a diced pear, slivered almonds)

Sounds pretty good, right? Well, I suppose it’s time for change in my life. This breakfast was a chore to eat. Yes, a CHORE. The oatmeal texture sickened me, and I would have much rather eaten the pear & blueberries on their own. All this week, I have been eating more savory than sweet breakfasts, eaten with fork or by hand rather than spoon. I’m so sad to say it, but I don’t think I’ll be having oatmeal for a while.

My days will start off with much more of this:

(glamour shot)

Great Harvest

Why the sun shines, as I’m sure Kath can attest to. Nine Grain & Sunflower Whole Wheat. Oh, Em, Gee.

“How do they make such exquisite bread?”-Nick

Slices also go marvelously with last night’s dinner.

Crock Pot Lentil Soup

  • 28oz can petite diced tomatoes
  • 160z white beans (I used White Kidney, aka Cannellini)
  • 12oz bag frozen chopped spinach
  • 1c dry brown lentils
  • 3c water
  • 1c chopped carrots
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1.5tsp red chili flakes
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1Tbsp Tastefully Simple’s Diced Tomato & Garlic Pesto Mix **
  • Pepper to taste

In a slow cooker or crock pot, combine all ingredients and cook on high for 5 hours, and then cook for 1-2 hours more on low. Voila! Awesome soup, ready at your leisure.

** If you do not have this marvelous mix, simply add dried basil & parsley in lieu of it. Any Italian herbs should suffice.

I apologize for my less than stellar presentation, but this soup was sensational… especially atop a bed of fresh spinach with a blob of hummus:)

_____________________________________________________________________

Review Time: Amazing Grass Whole Food Energy Bar

Taste: Slight berry sweetness and subtle nuttiness, ‘green’ flavor (in a good way)

Texture: A little drier than a Larabar, but still chewy and dense

Size: It’s the size of the wrapper, so there’s no surprises when you open it and go “Where’s my bar?” So, thumbs up!

Overall, this bar was very good & I would definitely purchase it again. I cannot wait to try the others!!

_____________________________________________________________________

How was your weekend?

15 Responses to “Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes”

  1. Emily Says:

    I hate bad oat days..sorry you didn’t enjoy yours :/

    that lentil soup looks divine!!

    my weekend was pretty boring, but I’ve got two more days off from school, so that will definitely make up for it.

    xoxo

  2. Katie Says:

    My favorite Amazing Grass bars are the chocolate covered ones. 🙂


  3. mmm too bad i don’t have any lentils, i want that soup it looks superb. bummer about the oats, but i can’t wait to see more of your breakfast creations, hopefully they will inspire me, its no question i need to branch out.
    i want amazing grass 🙂
    happy sunday!!
    xoxo

  4. rustique Says:

    Ah, nothing worse than getting sick of a food you know is normally fabulous. The good thing is that you always come back to it and it’s somehow even better.

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    no oatmeal?!?! haha! jk but that is totally understandable- branch out 🙂 and the green superfood bars are really good. i agree, they taste green but in a good way!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. Jenny Says:

    aw sorry to hear about the dud oats.. can’t wait to see how you change it up. For some reason I have a feeling your replacement breakfast will be phenomenal 🙂

  7. Rachael Says:

    Yay for feeling better! Boo for icky oatmeal… Maybe after all this time you were out of practice? 😉 Regardless, I can’t wait to see what creative concoctions your new breakfasts will bring!
    “there’s no surprises when you open it and go ‘Where’s my bar?’” *cough* Larabar *cough* I swear those things are getting smaller and smaller.

    Rachael*

  8. daintyvegan Says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad oats day. Then again, I don’t eat them too often, maybe twice a week or so.

    That’s great that the bar meets your approval! I can’t wait until the day comes when I can try one. A bar that tastes green sounds to interesting to miss out on.

  9. caronae Says:

    Sorry about the oats,that stinks! The stew looks great, I love lentils. I have had all of the flavors of the amazing grass bars and the peanut butter one is excellent!

  10. seekmyself Says:

    It makes me sad about the oats! They are my true love; I just can’t do the savory breakfasts… but I suppose good bread does make it easier.

    And that lentil soup looks so tasty, especially with the hummus!

  11. Katharina Says:

    Ooo girl I just finished a bowl of cream of wheat (cooked in almond milk you must try this if you haven’t; I used the original kind) and I added in some other yummy things 😉 THAT BREAD!! I am a fan of bread and I’m pretty picky about it because I love heart fresh bakery breads. Sometimes with rolls, for instance, I’ll just go to the bakery to get my fresh roll rather than buying a bag of dinner rolls. I’d love to bake my own actually! And out of those Amazing Grass bars I’ve only tried that one and the chocolate (I liked the chocolate one a lot!!).

    XOXO Have a wonderful week my fellow artista 😉

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com


  12. I love Lentil Soups!! I will be trying this one! Thanks 😉

    Great blog!!

    XXOO

  13. lunchiemunchies Says:

    bookmarked that soup- got some leftover beans, corn etc. I think I’ll have to give it a whirl!
    That’s sad about the oats but in a way it’s nice that you can try some new brekkies out without missing the oatmeal 🙂
    xxxxx


  14. I hope you feel better soon! Lentil soup looks SO good!!


  15. Oh I love Great Harvest! Every time I go across the border to the US I try to stop at one and I stock my freezer.


Leave a Reply

