Be a Cookie Rookie!

February 4, 2010

Beauty, in its simplest form.

The last few hours of school today were particularly difficult to endure. Not on account of tedious school work or boring lectures. The culprit of my discomfort lie in the hands of a cookie and a glass’o’milk. I wanted nothing but the combination of those two when I got home.  And that’s precisely what I did…. albeit I actually had a Chocolate Heart Thrive and a glass of almond milk… tom-ay-to, tom-ah-to.

As I enjoyed dipping my ‘cookie’ into my ‘milk’, I realized the meaning of life. Are you ready? The meaning of life is not 42. It is the few moments of solitude that you relish, alone, with your cookies and your milk. Concrete and tangible, yet so abstract. I don’t care who you are, or what your diet entails, you know you love the experience, and that, my friends, is why we live. To simply sit, chew, dunk, crumble, and swig. I’ve never really considered myself the cookies & milk kind of gal, but I am now willing to accept my fate. And no, I do not really consider a Heart Thrive to be a real cookie. Don’t worry. But it met the requirements.

___________________________________________________________________

To bring purpose to this rant, I present to you, Sam’s Cookie Rookie Challenge.

The silly idea:

At one point in the day, find a random moment for yourself. Grab a cookie or two (or some resemblance of a cookie, ie: something sweet & dunkable). Pour the milk of your choice (cow, soy, almond, rice, hemp… etc.) into your favorite glass. Get comfortable. Consume cookie(s) & milk. Actually, ENJOY the cookie(s) and milk. Clear your mind and think of nothing but the moment.

If you have a blog, post about your experience! If you don’t, just leave a comment letting me know if you enjoyed it! The Challenge will continue until Valentines Day. Please, I beg of you, try it out!

_________________________________________________________________

My brother just poked fun at me, saying “Sam, you’re so philosophical.” Not what I’m aiming for. My goal is that in pursuing the Cookie Rookie Challenge, you will be able to experience a moment or two of bliss, plain and simple. For my readers who are suffering or are  in recovery of an eating disorder, try my challenge. Don’t allow the cookie to be a scheduled snack, do it spontaneously (if for some reason my challenge pops into your head at some point in the day). Do it without regret. It will be a sweet victory against your eating disorder, literally. For all my other readers, think of the challenge as a healthy treat for the soul. We can only worry so much about nutrition until our mental/emotional health takes a hit.  Relive that little bit of childhood freedom, enjoy some cookies & milk.

So, really, is this challenge silly, or do you think people will want to bring merit to the milkstache?

Feedback is much appreciated.

8 Responses to “Be a Cookie Rookie!”

  1. rustique Says:

    I love this and will definitely be participating.

  2. Lexi Says:

    I love this idea. I will definitely participate!


  3. confession. when i first read the challenge, i’ll definitely do this for my snack. then i read the rest, and i thought oh man sam (yep rhyme and all) this is going to be hard. so i’m doing it.
    i will have a fit of spontaneity and participate 🙂
    xoxo

  4. seekmyself Says:

    Oh to truly be able to relish something as simple as a cookie without the guilt would be a dream come true. I’ll do my best and try 🙂 Great idea.

  5. daintyvegan Says:

    Um, genius idea! I’ll try to do this challenge sometime next week when I have time to bake. Homemade cookies make the meaning of life so much better.

  6. Emily Says:

    I love this! it will be hard – not gonna lie – but I shall attempt.

    xoxo

  7. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    awwww i think this is a great idea!!!

    xoxox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. Markus Weise Says:

    Wirklich ein prima Blog, werde sicherlich noch fter mal hier reinschauen! Deine Beitrge sind auch echt super! Lieben Gru


Leave a Reply

