The first sign…

February 3, 2010

There are several signs that indicate the re-birth of a knight.  They are so prominent and so specific that I find it very hard to fathom my own achievement of one of these said signs:

1. Find, face, and slay the green  ‘dragon’.

As many valiant and noble men (bloggers) have attested to, the green ‘dragon’ could quite possibly be the epitome of a knight’s strength and ability. Mastering the art of green monster making/dragon slaying is difficult, indeed. But when done right, it is the taste of victory.

You might have already noticed, I’m feeling a tad better… hence, my feeble attempt to create any lick of humor in relating the blogosphere’s favorite smoothie, The Green Monster, to dragon slaying… but that’s beside the point.

I awoke this morning, feeling pretty spiffy. I had a feeling it was going to be a good day, for how could one go wrong with such a breakfast? I mean, I met nearly no fuss when choosing my English muffin spreads, it felt like no compromise! I had one with real butter, and the other with raw almond butter. Normally, I’d feel as if I were missing something… but the planets seemed to be aligned. And to make up for my vegetable consumption (or lack there of, as a result of my stomach virus and complete aversion to anything fibrous), I was CRAVING green this morning. So in the blender went a frozen banana, 2 rather large handfuls of spinach, a few chunks of pineapple, Silk Almond milk, water, and ice! Voila! Veggies for breaky. Delicious, indeed.

While I’m near the topic of Silk Almond Milk, I spose it’s the perfect time for a little review. First, the texture is DEFINITELY new, for almond milk, that is. It’s much much creamier than any I’ve tried. I usually purchase unsweetened almond milk, so this was a tad sweeter than I fancy, but delicious none the less. To put it simply, it tastes like Vanilla Silk, but with a stronger almond than soy taste… if you catch my drift. I’d recommend it if you’re in the market for something new!

TO further affirm my new found health, tonight I’m actually cooking! It has been ONE WHOLE WEEK, and I have not cooked a single meal. I actually had to tell myself NOT to think about food, I was making myself nauseous. Thank god those days are over. KITCHEN HERE I COME!!!!

12 Responses to “The first sign…”

  1. Emily Says:

    glad you are feeling better, enough that you can eat!

    I’ll have to check out the silk almond milk.

    xoxo
    continue to get well 🙂

  2. maggie Says:

    Sometimes I crave big green smoothies in the morning. I think what makes them so delicious is the banana and vanilla protein powder..can’t taste the spinach a bit! Glad your hunger is back 🙂

    Maggie

  3. Katie Says:

    The Green Monster is the most beloved drink that I will ever consume 🙂

    Glad to hear you will be cooking again. I wonder what you will whip up next?

    Thanks for the Silk Almond Milk review. I may just have to check it out sometime when I don’t have time to make my own.

  4. rustique Says:

    Glad you’re back in action! Nothing like the first proper meal after a bad virus. That smoothie is so vibrantly green, I’ve no doubt it was delicious.


  5. hey girl! yay im so glad you are back to cooking 🙂 loving your green monster, it looks amazing. and thanks for the review on the silk almond milk! i have seen that a couple times now and i cant even wait to try it. have a wonderful day xoxo soph


  6. so glad you’re feeling better 🙂
    i’ve made a one respectable green monster in my life, ha usually they end up a bit brown….
    thanks you for the silk almond milk review, i’m thinking i might pick it up if i see it.
    happy hump day!!!
    xoxo

  7. Jenny Says:

    I have yet to slay the green dragon. I feel like such a bloggie failure.

    Happy to hear my princess is feeling better 🙂

  8. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    that green monster thing looks soo good!! thank goodness you are feelin way better ❤ love ya

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. daintyvegan Says:

    Ah, that green monster looks so good! I think that tomorrow I’m going to try a frozen banana (if we have any left) in my smoothie. I’ve never tried frozen banana in a green smoothie but I’m guessing that it’s probably quite fantastic.

    So glad you’re feeling better! Being sick is NEVER fun.. unless you’re only so-so sick and it results in missing work/school and being waited on all day. Then it’s not so bad.

  10. Lexi Says:

    Amazing green dragon/monster! Looks so good. I love that you added pineapple – that sounds absolutely delicious!

  11. louisianagrown Says:

    Hehe, this is pretty funny. 🙂 Glad you’re feeling better.

  12. seekmyself Says:

    Glad you’re feeling better and able to get back into the kitchen, Sam! I’d really miss cooking as well if I had to stay away from it for so long. Can’t wait to see what you come up with next.


Leave a Reply

