Running on empty: V2

January 31, 2010

So, this weekend has been spent lounging on the couch, watching multiple hours of Biggest Loser. As I write this, I still lie on the couch, watching a favorite movie of mine (As Good As It Gets). I’m feeling slightly better, but no drastic change. I dubbed this post “Running on empty: V2” because this morning, I woke up to the most excruciating hunger-induced stomach ache of my life. I was so hungry, I could have thrown up. I literally skipped my limp-self on over to the kitchen to make breakfast (while of course, worrying about whether or not I’d be able to keep it down…)

(Pear Cream of Wheat with PB)

Fortunately, it silenced the beast in my tummy. Unfortunately, it awoke a new one, as well.

As the dedicated foodie I am, I put on my big girl panties and went grocery shoppin’ with my mom, despite my illness. Β And for my efforts, I was rewarded:

Silk Almond Milk. Has anyone else seen this?

Review to come!

How was your weekend?

16 Responses to “Running on empty: V2”


  1. girl you still make the bestest things while under the weather. feel better!!
    & no i have not seen silk almond milk, i cannot wait for the review πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  2. Katie Says:

    Glad that you aren’t feeling so under-the-weather anymore. Oh, and I can NEVER turn down grocery shopping, are you kidding me? πŸ™‚

  3. rustique Says:

    I just gave that a whirl–I found it much creamier than other almond milks.

    So glad you’re feeling better!

  4. Jenny Says:

    I am so thrilled to hear your appetite is back!! I was worried about my little carrot ❀

    oh new almond milk – me wannnnt.

    xoxo

  5. Olivia Says:

    Hi! I’m going to delurk with a long, and perhaps TMI comment for some.
    But firstly, yum! I LOVE almond milk, what a find! And that breakfast looks delicious.
    I’m so sorry you aren’t feeling well. I can completely relate, as coincidentally, I spent this weekend in my bed watching crappy tv between bouts of bathroom runs. For the last six months, I have been having these sort of weekends at the start of my period and I don’t know why. As I am recovering from an eating disorder, I have attributed the gastro unhappiness to two years of mistreatment of my stomach, but I don’t know exactly what’s up. Do you have any insight into this? Do you think your sickness is your body fighting back after years of you fighting it? Or maybe this is completely non-ED-related and you are just sick and that sucks! Well, anyway, I’d love to hear your insight and I hope you are feeling better and better =) you are such an inspiration as an ED-recoverer and foodie. Email me at olivia.nathanson@gmail.com if you do have any insight at all!

  6. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    glad you are feeling hungry again … that bowl looks fab!!
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  7. daintyvegan Says:

    Hmm, I’ve never seen that almond milk before but it looks like it would be good. I like almond milk. πŸ™‚ Or, I like the one that I’ve tried. They can vary in taste and sometimes require some getting use to.

    That’s good that you’re sort of getting better! It blows that you’re not super healthy yet but at least you get to chill and do mostly fun/relaxing things?

    My weekend was pretty good. Saturday felt so LONG but today is pleasantly slow and just.. nice.

  8. Lexi Says:

    Woah had no idea that silk made A.M.! Excited for the review!


  9. hey girlie! so glad you are feeling better πŸ˜‰ loving that breakfast – yum! ahhh silk makes almond milk? say whaaat? exciting! cant wait to hear how that goes. xoxo soph

  10. seekmyself Says:

    Awww I’m sorry to hear that you’re not feeling 100% better yet; I hope you will soon. I hate being sick, especially when it interferes with good eats. Your oats look delicious though, and at least you got to catch up on some quality TV watching πŸ™‚

    I haven’t seen that almond milk in the stores yet, but I’m looking forward to your review. So far I’ve only really enjoyed Almond Breeze almond milk… need some variety!

  11. Emily Says:

    I hope you are feeling better!

    silk almond milk πŸ™‚ – that is truly music to my ears!!
    xoxo

  12. glidingcalm Says:

    believe it or not ive never had almond milk!!


  13. I love cream of wheat! I always eat that when I am sick. I have not seen the Silk Almond Milk. Can’t wait to see what you think! I am an Almond Breeze girl, so I am curious!

  14. amy Says:

    omg never seen the silk almond milk! amazing! where’d you find it??

  15. Hillary Says:

    No, I have not seen Silk Almond Milk, but now I’m going to look for it. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

