*Deep sigh.

January 26, 2010

I did it. I started and finished a piece of artwork that I am actually pretty content with. Last night went rather smoothly, to my surprise.  Last night was a test, one which proved that a positive mentality will take you farther than panic will. Last night made me believe that I really can achieve anything, as long as I maintain  my determination and a sort of mental complacency. When all was said and done, I took a step back, looked at my final product, and took a deep sigh.  I’m all for a challenge. And the best part, undoubtedly, would have to be the deep, relieving gush of warm air that escapes your lungs as soon as you add the finishing touch.

…and I ended up taking first place in my category. So, again, attitude is key.

Tonight’s dinner is worthy of honorable mention, too….

Lemon Wheat Berries with Almond Pesto
Spinach Pesto with Wheat Berries

  • 3c cooked wheat berries
  • 3 small-medium red potatoes, cubed
  • 10 oz bag of spinach
  • 1 lemon
  • black olives

for the pesto-

  • 1/2c sliced almonds, toasted
  • 1/2c finely shredded Parmesan/Romano mix
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/4c plain fat free yogurt
  • olive oil

Set aside wheat berries. Boil potatoes until cooked. drain and mix with wheat berries, season with salt, pepper, & juice of 1/2 lemon* (make sure the seeds don’t pop out!) Mix in spinach.

In a food processor, combine almonds, cheese mix, 2 big handfuls of spinach, garlic, yogurt, s&p, and pulse. Slowly begin to drizzle a little olive oil until pesto reaches desired texture. Add pesto to wheat berry/potato mix. Do it slowly, and make sure you don’t do pesto overkill! It depends on your taste. Garnish with sliced black olives.

*Add lemon zest for a little more lemon flavor.

This should serve between 4-6 people.

Have a splendid evening!

20 Responses to “*Deep sigh.”

  1. glidingcalm Says:

    AMAZING work!! wow! that picture is stunninggggg!


  2. girl you are downright amazing. that piece is beautiful! congratulations 🙂

    and miss sam when are you coming to ohio to make me a meal? please tell me its tomorrow!!
    happy tuesday beautiful!
    xoxo
    & by the way you’re right.

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    omgomgomg you are amazing! i am so impressed with your art ❤ love ya girl!

    xxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. brooke Says:

    BRAVO!

    beautiful sam, you are so gifted.
    please never stop painting… or believing in yourself.

    time to celebrate!
    love, brooke

  5. Katie Says:

    Oh my gosh! Your art is amazing! Make something for me, please, so I can hang it up in my room? 🙂 Haha

  6. lunchiemunchies Says:

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!That artwork is incredible, no wonder you took 1st place. Creativity obviously extends to the kitchen with you as well with that yummy dinner! xxx

  7. Lexi Says:

    CONGRATS! You totally deserve 1st place! Your art is beautiful!


  8. There is nothing I appreciate more than a beautiful piece of art, and that is absolutely stunning 🙂 You should be so proud of yourself. Congratulations!

    xox
    Tat

  9. seekmyself Says:

    Wow Sam! Your artwork looks absolutely stunning! Congrats on taking first place, you certainly deserve it.

  10. rustique Says:

    You are an absolutely incredible artist! And quite possibly the cutest thing ever. Congrats on the win!

    Ooh, this looks delicious…I suddenly want olives in the worst way.

  11. Jenny Says:

    can I please just give you 10 million hugs?! Girlfriend, I am so proud of you. Your talent is just phenomenal.

    p.s. I’m in the middle of the fourth season of Dexter — holy hell! Have you seen it?! I don’t want to spill the beans if you haven’t but if you have – lemme know! SO much shizz going down!

  12. Rachael Says:

    Congratulations!!!!! You are so incredibly talented, it’s cray cray. 😉 Seriously for a good second or two I thought your artwork was a photograph, that’s how amazing it is.

    Rachael*

  13. melonshot. Says:

    wow wow wow! So beautiful 🙂 You are amazing, girl 🙂

    Great recipe 🙂 xoxoxox

  14. louisianagrown Says:

    Holy cow, that is amazing. If I had just seen a picture of your drawing I would have assumed it was just a real photograph of a person. Congratulations!

  15. daintyvegan Says:

    Sam!!!!!! That is AMAZING! And it’s a painting? Frick. No wonder you won first place. Congrats! Damn, you’re talented.


  16. You rock sambo! Good genes:-)

  17. Mitri Says:

    Holy sh*t, that artwork is amazing. I thought yours looked like a photograph, so realistic! If there was a show called “American Artist,” you would get a record deal.

    And I am definitely writing down that recipe. Just the kind of meal I love 🙂

  18. Emily Says:

    Sam you are amazing! I had no doubts 🙂

    what media is that?

  19. Emily Says:

    Congrats on winning first in your category!
    Your piece looks amazing, just like a photograph. It’s so neat to see how you’re using your passion for art. 🙂


Leave a Reply

