Nervous

January 25, 2010

Fortunately, my artistic ‘talent’ has been recognized. My art teacher has selected me, and four other students, to represent our school in the district’s  Student Art Night. I am surprised, yet extremely grateful for this opportunity. Unfortunately, I’m currently falling victim to severe stress. The event is tonight after school and I have 3 hours to start and complete a piece of artwork while being judged live. I still don’t know what exactly I am going to do. I must stay positive… I must. Why am I so nervous all the sudden? Way to procrastinate, Sam.

I digress…

(Sunday) Yogurt drizzled with agave, cinnamon, and a soon to be crumbled larabar.

Perfection.

As was lunch…

Atop a bed of steamed spinach lay leftover Beet & Bean stew, steamed squash, plain yogurt & chives.

And supper…

Made with the help of Claudius.

Double Bean & Barley Chili/Stoup

This recipe was a concoction, and it was quite good. I just mixed two cans of beans (black & garbanzo) with two cans diced tomatoes, chili seasoning, onions, celery, frozen corn, and some fast cooking barley and additional liquid. I know it isn’t that pretty, but its taste more than made up for the appearance.

And this morning’s breaky-

Banana Oats with Natural Jif

Don’t get me wrong, I love Peanut Butter & CO., MaraNatha, and Justin’s…. but Jif will always be tops. I don’t know what it is, I just melt when I taste it. SO damn good.  Having eaten a breakfast with such stellar components, I reckon my day should go smoothly, just like my peanut butter.

How was your weekend? What’d you do?

13 Responses to “Nervous”

  1. frogsandmen Says:

    looks beautiful, the chili

    a bientot!
    The Paris Food Blague

  2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    omg congrats on being selected- that is awesome!!! great pictures 🙂 everyting looks deliciousss… my weekend was pretty fun…went out with friends! cant wait to hear how you do!
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com


  3. not going to lie that art event sounds intense. congratulations on getting picked!! i have no doubt you are doing to do amazingly 🙂 sending fabby vibes!
    mm all the eats look fantastic, i’ve never actually had natural jif (enter pb snob) but that looks like the perfect simple breakfast!
    happy monday beautiful!
    xoxo

  4. Rachael Says:

    Congratulations on being chosen! I’m sorry that you’re feeling nervous now though. But you were selected for a reason (that reason being that you are UBER talented,) and it’s just a matter of time before inspiration strikes. Try to relax and be open to it flowing through. 😉
    Perhaps Claudius can help you wrack your brain for some inspiration? … Or at least keep you company!

    Rachael*

  5. Emily Says:

    Good luck with your art night tonight! Congrats on being chosen; you are so talented. 🙂

    I’m a Jif Natural fan, too. I love the taste, and the price isn’t bad, either.

  6. Lexi Says:

    Congrats on being selected for the student art night! Just relax and have fun.

    I love Natural Jif and Skippy Natural too. Somethin about ’em… they’re like originals. sometimes you just can’t beat the originals.

  7. Katie Says:

    Congrats! Good luck and don’t try to stress TOO much. 🙂

  8. daintyvegan Says:

    My weekend was fairly alright. Worked all day Saturday then did absolutely NOTHING on Sunday. 😀 Doing nothing is the best.

    Try not to stress too much, you’ll do awesome! I can’t wait to hear about it. 🙂

  9. Jenny Says:

    oh sweetheart I am so damn proud of you! please don’t allow the stress to overshadow your excitement!!! It is phenomenal to have even been selected 🙂 Best of luck tonight, angelface!!

  10. Emily Says:

    congrats!! don’t stress, you’ll be fine 🙂

    I agree – JIF tops all. No doubt.

    xoxo

  11. Reigne Says:

    Woo hoo! Hooray for you! Don’t stress lovey, I’m sure you’ll do very well. 🙂

    I still can’t get over how cute Claudius is. And he “helps” in the kitchen. What a darlink of a boyfriend. 😉

  12. Katharina Says:

    I hope everything went well chicka! That’s so cool that you got recognized. Actually I’ve got a question for you–what do you want to study when you go to school/what’s your dream school? I’ve had profs in college that sneak attack us with “pop-crits”.. like a pop-quiz except it’s a critique and you have to make something. It’s really interesting to see the decisions everyone makes because there’s not much time to think. Instead you just DO. All yours eats look soooo yummy.. in my tummy mwahaha. I haven’t had a LARABAR in forever. I have a box full of other bars so I’m stock-piled lol. The squash dish looks sooo refreshing and oh soo good + I LOVE beets. Take care!!!

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  13. Sara Says:

    Love your site! Such great ideas. I dip my lara bar in yogurt too, it’s just more balanced tasting that way isn’t it? Also didnt know silk made almond milk… they usually arent my first breand choice, but this is good to know. Im sure it will be more popular now 😉


Leave a Reply

