Oops.

January 21, 2010

Wasn’t me…..

….I did, however, make this ย Tuesday night-

Eat, Drink & Be Vegan’s Walnut, White Bean & Spinach Phyllo Rolls

Served with steamed brussels sprouts and nutritional yeast.

The filling includes: tamari, fresh basil, chopped garlic, fresh lemon juice, roasted red peppers, among other things.

This was my first time cooking with phyllo dough. and it went marvelously!!! Thus far, the ED&BV cookbook has not let me down. Every recipe is soooo delicious and pretty easy to prepare. What’s your favorite ED&BV recipe? I’d love to know which one I should conquer next.

And last night, I went recipe-less, and made ‘comfort food’. Yes, I do consider roasted vegetables and chickpeas comfort foods.

Israeli Couscous with spinach & chickpeas, and roasted cauliflower, purple carrots, and onion.

Purple carrot, pre-roastage = glorious.

…tis pretty glorious roasted, too.

Another first for Sam: Israeli Couscous.

It was very different than normal couscous. I might like this stuff better. Kosher is the way to go, fsho.

Which do you prefer, Israeli or original?

Oy vey, there’s no breakfast in this post! What have I become? I promise, I will make up for it…

Here’s a start…. comic relief!

13 Responses to “Oops.”

  1. Reigne Says:

    First comment? ๐Ÿ˜€ (Maybe not by the time I finish writing this.)

    I. Must. Buy. That. Book. MUST! Those phyllo rolls have tipped me over the edge… They’re basically everything I love, wrapped it in pastry! Nommm.

    I’m with you on the comfort food… Nothing is more satisfying roasted vegies and chickpeas… Nothing!

    I’ve seen Israeli cous-cous in a Greek food store (heaven for any foody) it’s always intrigued me, but I’ve never gotten around to buying any (I’m a bit stingy when it comes to spending.. :O)

    As for that Snickers ad, I think I’m the German guy. Seriously. Yesterday I must have eaten a cup of cashews.. and and a gazillion pounds of muesli, and was still hungry. Nothing seems to satiate my hunger.

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Reigne.
    http://www.babyhealthnut.wordpress.com

  2. Jenny Says:

    dare I say breakfast is not missed at all in this post — that dinner is a show stopper!


  3. please move to ohio and be my person chef. pretty please?? everything looks soo delicious! ps i think you have convinced me to buy eat drink & be vegan i need these recipes in my life ๐Ÿ™‚
    & purple carrots! oh my gawwwd!
    happy thursday beautiful!!
    xoxo

  4. Emily Says:

    oh no! poor glass :/

    comfort food of veggies and chick peas sounds delectable. you are one heck of a cook, my friend!

    that commercial is hilarious!

    xoxo

  5. daintyvegan Says:

    Frick. You are like, a master chef. Seriously, everything you make seems to turn out perfect and look so amazingly delicious.

    Roasted veggies are an awesome comfort food so I’m with you on that one. 8)

    I really want to watch that commercial but I’m at work and this computer has no sound. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Sadness.

  6. melonshot. Says:

    my favorite ED&BV recipe is the cocoa chili. its so awesome ๐Ÿ˜€ and the lemon sniffle soup.. and ALL the hummus recipes! YUM

  7. Rachael Says:

    If I was a carrot I’d want to be that one… Just pre the getting chopped up and roasted part. It’s such a pretty color!
    No worries about the broken glass. It’s now in a glass heaven where it’s part of a beautiful chandelier. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Rachael*

  8. lunchiemunchies Says:

    Wow, those meals looks fantastic, roasted veggies are definite comfort food I agree! As for Israeli couscous, I think it works best cold in salads for me like with a nice dressing, some beans of some sort, veggies etc. I like normal couscous with a hot meal I think…
    xxxxxx

  9. mayapamela Says:

    I had Israeli couscous last night, too, tis lovely!

  10. M.E. Says:

    Purple carrot ?
    how lovely is that! ๐Ÿ™‚
    (as all the purple things ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
    oh and the phyllo rolls look so tasty!
    lovely blog ๐Ÿ™‚
    well to answer you question: i ve 2 cameras,a good one (canon 400d) which i take for my day shots as the flash is broken ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    an a little sony cybershot wich use for dinner and early early in the morning
    haha ๐Ÿ™‚ i really should get the flash fixed!
    i wish you a wonderful &delicious day:)

  11. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    hmm i like israeli and regular couscous! delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  12. maggie Says:

    Your too sweet! Love that comfort food as well! And funny commerical ๐Ÿ™‚

    Maggie

  13. determinedtoshine Says:

    Dear Sam,

    Please post me all that delicious food. Thanks in advance.

    Lots of love,
    Hannah xo


Leave a Reply

