I dream of Giada.

January 19, 2010

Nothing’s better than coming home, eating my afternoon snack, and watching my love, Giada. I want you in my belly, Eggplant Timbale. (sans beef & pork, though) I cannot wait to recreate you, you awesome, delicious, terrific timbale.

Bonjour! How has your Tuesday been?

Mine started with a startle! If you are sensitive to bathroom lingo, skip this next sentence. Remember the Ukrainian Beet & Bean Stew that I planned on making for dinner last night?

Ukrainian beet & bean stew

Well, I did. More on this bowl of AWESOMENESS later, though.

Turns out, eating two bowls of delicious beet stew tints your urine. Too much info? Naw, just a warning.

So, this morning, I found myself torn as to whether I wanted Cream of Wheat or Oatmeal for breakfast. And what happens to be the “cure-all” for any uncertain relationship? Compromise.

And compromise I did.

(1/3c oats, 1 heaping tbsp. Cream of Wheat, vanilla soymilk, xagave, sliced nanner, & a spoonful of ooey, gooey, drippy, delicious peanut butter)

I don’t know why Carry makes compromise seem so bad.

Of course, I may be two-timing the two loves (in the morning) of my life… but I’m still me, and I’m sure that neither Rastus nor Mr. Quaker Man mind, for I relish the time I share with both of them… though it may be short lived.

Such sexy men. They know how to satisfy!

Back to the stew!

Because I feel everyone should make this recipe, and I’m aware that you probably don’t own the Moosewood Low-Fat Favorite Cookbook, I present to you the best stew I’ve ever made:

Ukrainian Beet & Bean Stew

  • 2c sliced onions
  • 1/2c chopped celery
  • 3c water
  • 3c sliced cabbage
  • 1c sliced carrots
  • 3c chopped potatoes
  • 4c peeled cubes raw beets (5 0r 6 medium beets)
  • 28oz can whole tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 tsp. caraway seeds
  • 2 tbsp. white or cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 15oz can kidney beans, drained
  • 1 tbsp. dried dill
  • black pepper to taste

In a large pot with oil, cook the onions and celery until browned. Add 1c water, cover, lower heat, and simmer 5 min. Add cabbage and carrots, stir, simmer, covered, for 5 minutes. Add remaining 2c water, potatoes, beets, tomatoes, caraway seeds, vinegar, and salt. bring to a boil, lower heat, cover, and simmer 35 min, until beets are tender. Add beans & dill. Once thoroughly heated through, add pepper.  Serve topped with scallions and a dollop of LF or NF plain yogurt.

So. damn. tasty. Make it, eat it. Thank you Moosewood!

On a non food related note, it was stormy and snowy today. That is, until school let out! It was sunny, clear & beautiful.

Like my new poncho?

12 Responses to “I dream of Giada.”

  1. Lexi Says:

    Love your new poncho! I love oats AND cream of wheat and think it’s perfectly ok to cheat on them 😉

    I love me some Giada as well!

    Have a great night love.

  2. Eleanor Says:

    You look absolutely adorable, and I LOVE that poncho! It looks so warm and cozy… Just like that Beet and Bean stew recipe would make my tummy feel right now. My mum and I were pretty much drooling over it 😉 You can bet we’ll be trying this out! Thank you so much!

    Love,
    Eleanor. xo

  3. mayapamela Says:

    Love the new poncho! And the beet and bean stew, am saving the recipe as my dad goes cuckoo for beets.

  4. Katie Says:

    Beautiful oats!!! And I love your new poncho. So cute. 🙂

  5. Emily Says:

    oats and cream of wheat – if that isn’t a compromise..idk what is 🙂

    I do love your poncho, you look adorable!

  6. glidingcalm Says:

    i love Giada! so does my brother ! 😉

    your poncho is super cuteeeeeeeeeeee!!

    mmmmm melty pb on oats = heaven!

    HAPPY WEDNESDAYYYYYY!

  7. melonshot. Says:

    WOW that beet and bean stew looks SO awesome. Definatly something I would enjoy very much 🙂
    My auntie, when she was much younger, ate a JAR of pickled beets.. since she was in diapers still, my grandma FREAKED OUT when all her urine was red.. bahaha. oh. Good thing this recipe doesnt call for asparagus 😉

    Poncho’s=super sexy LOVE it.


  8. mmm cream of wheat and oatmeal are wonderful.. although I have never had them together 😛 Interesting…

    You look absolutely stunning in the photos 😉
    xox
    Tat

  9. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    ah you are gorgeeeousss! i hated cream of wheat when i was a kid but i feel like my tastes have changed so much that i’d probably like them now!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  10. ff Says:

    The stew looks great! How many servings would you say the recipe makes?

  11. louisianagrown Says:

    Uh yea, I’m kind of in love with your new poncho. It really overshadowed everything else you talked about. Except for the pink pee. I almost want to eat some beets so that will happen to me.

  12. daintyvegan Says:

    First off, you look very pretty in your new poncho. Your skin is freaking glowing, it’s awesome! 🙂

    Pink urine? Definitely not too much info! It’s actually sort of cool.


Leave a Reply

