Just beet it.

January 18, 2010

Before we get to the beetings, I’d like to apologize for this weekend’s posting (or lack there of). To make up for it, I’d like to introduce you to this morning’s breakfast-

Banana Pear Oats with PB 'Sauce"

What’s so special, you might ask?

1.  Banana Pear Oats in a pretty new Anthropologie Bowl

and

2. Peanut Butter Sauce

(A harmonious mix of fat free plain yogurt & Mighty Maple PB)

I’m not certain of the exact ratio of yogurt to PB I used, but I know it was awesome. You should try it. Just plop a spoonful of yogurt into a small bowl, followed by a spoonful of pb. If you want a stronger pb flavor, simply add more.

And I also made Nick an exceptional plate of French Toast. The “Best Ever”.

Roman Round French toast

Roman Round bread, egg + milk + agave batter, buttered pan = fantastic French toast, complete with a drizzle of syrup and dollop of whipped cream.  I think Nick likes having me around.

We have a lot of fun together. For instance, Yesterday, I was preparing beets for tonight’s Ukrainian Beet & Bean Stew. Not a single bit of those beet bushels went to waste. The beet greens will be sauteed in garlic, the beets in the stew, and the ‘useless’ stems… well, let’s let the pictures tell the story:

beet juice

As Nick and I are artists, and like to make something out of nothing, we decided to make a ‘paint’ out of pureed beet stems. We drained the pulp and wound up with an iota of juice, which we put in an empty pb jar. Nick’s using it as a water color-esque paint, and I am using it as lip stain.

Beets are extremely beautiful. Everything about them is remarkable! The color is absolutely divine and can turn any dish into something bright & inviting.

What food is so beautiful that it takes your breath away?

Onto other adventures, I dragged the family to Liberty Height’s Fresh. An awesome little market that carries an array of beautiful pastas, smelly (in a good way) cheese, artisan bread, and much more.

I think it’s in rundown gas station, making it all the more retro.

Produce! Liberty Heights Fresh Market

We picked up a HUGE loaf of Roman Round, a seeded Epi baguette, loose chai tea, an acorn squash, purple carrots, cucumber soda, and an amazing honey lavender pecan candy chew.

What’d you do this weekend?

12 Responses to “Just beet it.”

  1. Lexi Says:

    That PB sauce looks great! I need to try that out!

  2. Katie Says:

    What a neat idea with the beets! Clever, chica, you are. 😀 That little food store looks like a lot of fun. And the produce looks exceptional too!
    Bummers that your spinach went up in price. I used to buy organic, but it’s too expensive for the amount at which I consume. 😦

  3. lunchiemunchies Says:

    Gosh you’re a smart one! Pb sauce 1stly looks super and 2ndly innovation indeed with the beet stems- lip tint? Paint? genius! Oh that market is too cute, I love Italian delis etc. Will you post the beet/bean stew? Sounds divine.
    Love your photography as well.
    xxxxxxxxxxx

  4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    great post, as awlayss! love the penaut butter sauce- it sounds so good 🙂
    have a great week
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. mayapamela Says:

    I love beets! And the pecan chews sound so delicious.

  6. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce Says:

    such great food pics! i love how you sliced those nanners, yum. what a cool grocery store!

  7. Emily Says:

    clever beat ideas!

    that little market is to die for.

  8. Anne Says:

    I know I always say this, but your pics are amazing! I especially love the closeups of the beets. I think spiral beets are especially pretty 🙂 And that market looks so awesome!

  9. lola Says:

    i love peanut butter mixed into yogurt! and your photos of the beets are great =)

  10. daintyvegan Says:

    You’re a genius.. I would have just thrown the rest of the beet away! 😮 My bad.

    French toaaaast! I was JUST looking at a recipe for it today and considering making it someday soon. I love French toast. Love. But haven’t had it since I went vegan.. so over TWO YEARS now. Ugh.

    I think any kind of berry is extremely beautiful. ❤

  11. Katharina Says:

    Take me with you! Beets are a magical food to me–I love how they stain my lips as well. I swear if you have enough they turn your cheeks pink! The banana pear oats sound and look so great in that Anthropologie bowl. You swoon me with your foodie adventures. Your French toast reminds me that I wanted pancakes this morning but I couldn’t put my finger on how I wanted to eat them. You know.. I may make pancakes the next morning I have time and try out the yogurt + PB combo. Or even French toast 😉 That market sounds great. I love artisan anything, and I’m lucky to live in a place where community is key so you’ll see a lot of local things like bakeries, grocery stores, and other kinds of markets. I wish you could visit!!!

    Heirloom tomatoes and figs take my breath away.

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

