Pizza Pizazz

January 15, 2010

Momma’s Birthday Dinner:

Raspberry Ale Parmesan, Balsamic Red Onion & Pistachio Pizza on six grain crust.

Damn tasty, if I do say so myself.

Watercress & Pear salad with Balsamic/Mustard dressing.

The best was topping the pizza with the salad. Also, try garnishing a pizza with pistachios sometime. You won’t regret it.

The watercress was still in contact with its root. It has such a unique, peppery taste that I thought would be overpowering… the pear & balsamic/mustard dressing complimented it nicely, though.

Overall, it was a terrific meal for a terrific mother.

*It’s perfectly fine to indulge in a slice or two of pizza every now and then, don’t deprive yourself!

__________________________________________________________________________

I’ve been craving yogurt like crazy. It’s like my body has made it a requirement for things to function. SO Yesterday morning, I obliged.

Whole Foods Organic Nonfat plain yogurt, sliced banana, mango, peanuts, & a little bit of a crumbled lemon Larabar.

_________________________________________________________________________________

I don’t have school today, so last night my friend Amber and I hung out. It was marvelous!

Kombucha & Grilled Veggie and Hummus wraps at Whole Foods.

Sugarhouse Coffee Shop. I ordered the LaDee-Dah-Tee (Macadamia and Almond flavored latte w/ Soymilk). Delicious. But Amber hit the jackpot when ordering a ‘secret/off the menu’ drink…

Banana Cream Chai. Mouthgasm.

We also nibbled on this little slice’o’heaven. So buttery, so fruity, so awesome. Great Harvest can do no wrong. I absolutely had to save some so my family could taste it. I think they’re glad I did.

When I picked up my drink and the cute barista said “Up to vegan standards!” , I noticed a fly trap named Lilith.

We sat upstairs, chatted, and listened to the live jazz band.

….and sat next to this lovely lady.

We came back to my house and watched It’s always Sunny in Philadelphia, “The Night Man Cometh”.  Hilarious.

This morning, I took my jab at Maggie’s breakfast burrito.

It calls for 1/2c egg whites, but I accidentally dropped my last egg… thus leaving me with ~1/3 cup= tiny burrito. I added a little lemon zest to my egg whites, too. Now, mine does not look anything like Maggie’s masterpiece, but I tried. I served mine with banana, mango, apricot, almond butter, and yogurt!

Perty.

I hope everyone has a fantastic Friday & a wonderful weekend!

18 Responses to “Pizza Pizazz”

  1. Lexi Says:

    Oh my god, that pizza looks amaze! Great job!


  2. OMG food gasm right now…that looks AMAZINGGGGG

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    everything in this post looks delicious! and you are right, it is ok to indulge in a slice or 2.or 3..or 4 of pizza every now & then 😀 love whole foods! jealous of that wrap. maggie’s breakfast burrito looks amazing

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. Anne Says:

    That pizza looks amazing! So perfectly gourmet! And I totally agree on the pizza indulgence–it’s especially worth it when the pizza looks that special 🙂

  5. daintyvegan Says:

    YUM. That’s all I can say. All your food looks divine. Happy Birthday to your momma!!

    I had a venus fly trap once.. I named him Rex… and he died after I overfed him. 😦

  6. Jenny Says:

    please tell me your ambition in life is food photography… your creative eye is INCREDIBLE!!!!

    p.s. quick pregunta – did the egg burrito taste super eggy or does the added flav or the zest work well with it? regardless – it looks lovely!

    • merittothecarrot Says:

      Jenny- Thank you so very much! And unfortunately, the egg burrito tasted a little eggier than I’d hoped… but it went well with the other flavors I had going on, so it was good 🙂

  7. Emily Says:

    homemade pizza is amazing – yours looks divine! I hope your mom had a wonderful birthday 🙂

    that breakfast burrito sounds pretty darn good. I might have to try that.

    Have a great weekend!

    xoxo

  8. Katie Says:

    What a great gift to your mother! I love cooking for other people. It’s so satisfying and humbling. 🙂

  9. kbwood Says:

    WOW what a delish pizza! and fun time w. your girl at the coffee shop..those are the best times!

  10. Marina Says:

    Pizza looks amazing.
    I think I would be in heaven in that coffee shop!

  11. Brittany Says:

    That pizza looks heavenly!! I bet your mama adored it.

    I think I might order a Banana Cream Chai everyday if a coffee shop nearby carried it.


  12. hey! oh my gosh that pizza looks amazing beyond belief… your lucky mom 😀 and loving that lunch missing that delicious kambucha! i love that burrito, its crazy! have an amazing weekend xoxo soph

  13. Katharina Says:

    That pizza sounds amazing! I had a pizza once with gorgonzola, mozzarella, pears, red onions, and pistachios – so great!! 😀 That Sugarhouse Coffeeshop sounds incredible too – that chai!!! YUMYUMYUM!! 😀

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com


  14. Your photographs are absolutely gorgeous 😉

    … and peanuts in yogurt? That is shockingly intriguing to me 😮

    keep up the awesome eats 🙂
    xox
    Tat

  15. GutsyGirl Says:

    I just found your blog through Secret Doors–it’s awesome! As I tell Emily all the time, I wish I had been even close to being so health conscious/fashionable/inspiring as you lovely ladies are when I wish in high school. You all amaze me!!

    I totally love the yogurt/PB combo–I’ll definitely have to try it with the Maple kind!! YUM! I also truly love Always Sunny–it’s totally whacked out but I love it! Have you seen the live episode of the Night Man Cometh? It’s hilarious!!

    Can’t wait to keep reading!

  16. MERRILEE Says:

    I have recently been seeking all over for all of this content. Luckily I just uncovered this at Msn.


Leave a Reply

