Capote’d be proud.

January 10, 2010

Truman Capote had a knack for writing. He had a knack for wowing society.

His 1966 Black & White Ball in The Plaza’s Grand Ballroom was deemed “The Party of the Century”.

On the menu was a favorite of Truman’s: Chicken Hash.

Chicken Hash

After school last week, my brother and I watched our idol, the Barefoot Contessa. Ina was preparing Chicken Hash for her friends. Ina Garten is magical, magical in that she has the ability to excite my brother about food. She has the power to make my brother plead “Sam, will you please make that?” Actually, his excitement usually leans more towards “Sam, you will make that.” And what do I do? Oblige him.

So yesterday, after a movie and a trip to Whole Food’s, I got started on my Chicken Hash. I have told others that I am a vegetarian, and I do find that to be true. However, as I am the only ‘meat avoider’, and I cook dinner, I fathom it only fair that I prepare a dinner with meat every once in a while. Yes, I did eat it (a relatively smaller portion). Yes, I enjoyed it. Yes, it was fantastic. My family loved it and that’s all that matters. Their happiness overshadows my ‘vegetarian’ label. And I’m okay with that.

From the garlic-y potatoes sauteed in sweet cream butter to the crunchy red peppers intermingled with fresh organic basil and paprika, I savored.  As my passion for all things food continues to bloom and my desire to work in the food biz grows, I want to taste everything. I want to notice each and every flavor, in a perfect harmony. I will eat chicken every once in a while, and I don’t mean to offend any of my vegetarian friends or readers.

To start off my sunday, I took advantage of an almost empty jar of peanut butter.

Cream of Wheat cooked in vanilla soy, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and this new find….

Normally, I veer far away from canned fruit. However, my deep deep love for apricots drew me to this great buy. Canned with pear juice, and pear juice alone, I decided that it was worth a try. And indeed it was.

Cream of wheat with apricot

Simple.

Now I bid you adieu, and leave you with some random, recent photos.

Red Onion Mango
Loaf of bread
Fresh Sage

Lemon
Sweet Cream Butter

…and it all ends with butter.

15 Responses to “Capote’d be proud.”

  1. Lexi Says:

    first off, that chicken hash looks SO freakin’ good. oh my godddd. secondly, nice cream of wheat in a jar! I looove cream of wheat. so good and old school. and lastly, your photog is AMAZING girl. are you a photog major? if not, you totally should pursue this talent of yours. beautiful.

    have a great night!

  2. Jenny Says:

    was that the same episode Ina made those truffles? oh god, she’s so brilliant. I have a feeling Truman is smiling (and drooling) right now 🙂

  3. Rachael Says:

    Let the culinary adventures begin! I love that picture of the inside of the lemon. You’re so talented. 😉
    Ina’s voice has the ability to make me super sleepy no matter when I’m watching. Something about it is so relaxing!

    Rachael*

  4. Reigne Says:

    Ooh! The chicken hash looks so yummy! I might have to make that one for my little bro. I’ve never had cream of wheat… or oats in a jar…. I’ll have to try both. Is cream of wheat just wheat bran?

    You’re an amazing photographer… I’m jealous!

    Have a good one! Reigne.
    http://www.babyhealthnut.wordpress.com

  5. Katharina Says:

    Cream of wheat! Love it 🙂 I’ve got a box up at my place in Richmond. It’s so comforting. And that recipe looks amazing!!! I love the story behind it. For real, tasting food – raw, cooked, marinated, grilled… what have you, is wonderful! I find myself constantly trying things out. In fact during breakfast I will sit with various jams, cheeses, nut butters, and a good old tub of coconut oil and just test different combos. I should be a taste tester lol. I wish I could cook with you! I’d love to hunt and gather for an exquisite meal 🙂

    XOXO to the moon!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  6. Emily Says:

    I love Ina, we sell her products at the store where I work.

    Love those photos — so fresh and beautiful!


  7. i have a crazy deep love for capote. he is amazing. as is your chicken hash. sam you will come make that for me 🙂
    apricots in pear juice! my eyes will be peeled the next time i make it to whole foods, yum!
    you never cease to amaze me, with your gorgeous photos and beautiful spirit.
    happy sunday love!
    xoxo

  8. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    great post!! that dish sounds awesome and i think there is absolutely nothing wrong with enjoying meat every now & then. you are amazing 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. Katie Says:

    Beautiful photography, Sam! And, it’s nice to hear that you are enjoying your cooking, creating, and food eating! 🙂


  10. I love how positively geared you are towards foods… reading your words and excitement towards flavours inspires me to further enjoy my meals – something I used to really struggle with, but is getting better each and every day!

    I think it’s great that you don’t limit yourself – I support vegetarianism, but I also think it’s important that you enjoy your passion 😉

    xox
    Tat

  11. Emily Says:

    Gorgeous photos, Sam!
    I do think you are smart to practice moderation and let yourself enjoy a great dinner including meat if you want to. Sounds like it was delicious, and I’m sure your brother loves having an awesome chef in house. 🙂

    Have a great day!

  12. maggie Says:

    Awww your too adorable and I love your food photography!! Butter makes everything better 😉

    Maggie

  13. daintyvegan Says:

    I love your pictures! Very artsy and pretty. 🙂

    As for you occasionally eating meat although vegetarian.. I admire that. Not the part where you eat meat exactly, but the part where you know it’s okay to not be perfect. I’m going to admit right now that sometimes.. SOMETIMES I EAT DAIRY. Does that make me the worst vegan ever? Maybe, but it is what it is.

  14. seekmyself Says:

    Your chicken hash sounds delish, Sam. And good for you for not strictly sticking to labels. I truly respect that.

    Beautiful pictures, as always 🙂

  15. maggie Says:

    I know I already commented but I had to tell you about the carrot goodie I put up at my shop last night! I thought of you when I found it!

    xoxo
    Maggie


Leave a Reply

