Processed.

January 9, 2010

Nothing better than something that’s been thoroughly processed.

In a food processor, that is.

Moosewood’s
Creamy Walnut Sauce.

Process until perfection. Seriously, this is one of the simplest yet most delicious pasta toppers I have tasted.

Main ingredients: steamed spinach, toasted walnuts, and basil, among other things.

I was given three very nice, very sharp knives for Christmas by my lovely Grandma. They arrived the other day, and I decided to give them a little cleaning.


Did I mention they were sharp?

And that is why I love to cook.

Another thing I love is cinnamon. and Peanut butter. Alas,

That’s one state of holy matrimony!

[plain yogurt spiked with stevia and cinnamon, green apple, cinnamon pb]

I’m off to Whole Foods today to gather some supplies for my gastronomical adventure.

I hope you all have a stupendous weekend.

Quote of the day:

“I will grind her alive, piece by piece, in my food processor!”

Julia Child

13 Responses to “Processed.”

  1. Emily Says:

    your poor finger!

    that walnut sauce looks yummy though — worth the pain, right?

    cinnamon + PB = perfection.

    have a great time at whole foods!

    xoxo

  2. Anne Says:

    The walnut sauce looks delicious! And I love how unique and beautiful your pictures are. They’re always so sharp, neat, colorful, and have such interesting angles. But your poor finger! Ouch 😦

  3. Katie Says:

    Haha! I love the quote! 🙂 Yumm, great eats. I am going to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s tomorrow. I can’t wait!

  4. Rachael Says:

    Owie! Your poor finger! I’ve heard cinnamon has healing properties… at least, that’s what I’m going to keep telling myself. 😉
    I really like the handles of those knives though. They’re the definition of beautiful but deadly. I’m wishing you good luck (and no injuries) on this leg of your gastronomical adventure!

    Rachael*

  5. Lexi Says:

    Such fun creative things you can do with a food processor! I love the Julia Child quote, haha!

  6. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    ive never tried that peanut butter- sounds great!! i want a food processor 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  7. Katharina Says:

    That sauce looks DAMN good!!! I love making things in the food processor. IT’S SO EASY PEASY!! There’s a store down here that sells those Justin’s nut butters in jar size!!

    Ooo I wonder what you’re going to maaaake 😀

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  8. determinedtoshine Says:

    Owww I’m sorry about your finger Sam! I am the clumsiest person in the world when it comes to chopping and cooking, so spend about 75% of my life with plasters, cuts, burns etc covering my hands!

    Can’t wait to see what you find at WF 😉

    xo

  9. Jenny Says:

    okay, I’m whipping out my moosewood recipe book tomorrow. end of story.

    ah your poor finger! do you need me to send you my boo boo bunny? always helps me.

  10. Kathleen Says:

    haha, I love it…I love good knives too!

  11. Lyss Says:

    Moosewood’s right down the street from me at school! Great restaurant 🙂

  12. Reigne Says:

    Owwy! Sammy’s poor fingy! 😦
    I gotta make some of that walnut sauce… Looks delish, and it’s from Moosewood… so it’s bound to be delish. (I’m making the Moosewood Arabian Squash Casserole right now.)

    Have a good day!
    🙂 Reigne.


  13. Yikes!! Sorry about the finger… ! Looks like you got it a wrapped up though: safety first! 😛

    You are so very creative in the kitchen.. who would have even thought walnuts could make a pasta sauce?

    xox
    Tat


Leave a Reply

