Brand New Day & a giveaway!!

January 4, 2010

And what better way to start this new day than with a new bar!

Oh, 18 Rabbits… how you delight me. I have promised to sample & review this new flavor (what a chore, I know), so here it goes!

NEW! Belle Bananas Foster  is the 5th addition t0 18 Rabbit’s splendid selection of granola bars. This flavor brags Banana, thus, equaling perfection. Normally, I runaway from banana flavored products like they’re an obese nutritionist… it just doesn’t sit well with me. However, this bar was the redemption of the banana flavored bar. It was not artificial. More so, it whispered its presence. A lovely banana bite  grows as you chew, leaving you with a delicate after taste.

18 Rabbits

Lovely, no doubt.

The other day, I messed around with Margene (food processor) and concocted a tahini-less hummus.

Feta ‘Hummus’

Feta Hummus

1 can organic chickpeas

~1 oz. fat-free feta

Basil & Oregano (to taste. I used dry, but fresh would be optimal)

Balsamic Vinegar (to taste)

Olive Oil

Puree in food processor chickpeas,feta, and herbs until smooth.  While blending, drizzle balsamic vinegar into mixture. Do same with olive oil. Serve over a veggie couscous dinner 😉 or atop a salad, available for carrot dipping.

No food processor? No worries my friend! Here’s a little recipe for an equally delicious Mediterranean inspired dip.

Dill Dip

Dill Dip

Plain Greek or normal yogurt (I used Chobani 2% and it was thick and divine, Plain Yogurt will be slightly thinner and more wallet friendly)

(quantity of yogurt depends on desired servings)

~1 tsp of dried dill

Mix, mix, mix with a spoon and eat, eat, eat with pita, cucumber, or pretzels! This easy peasy protein packed dip is great for a snack or for a party.

And given the new year, I found it only suiting to host my first ever merit-worthy giveaway! What’s up for grabs?

goods

1 bottle Organic Blue Agave, TJ’s Country Pumpkin Spice Granola, Chocolate Coconut Chew Larabar, Apricot Suncake, and 4 bags of Pear Green tea!

To enter, leave me a comment entailing your favorite way to eat carrots (1 entry). For 2 entries, leave the comment & let me know that you’ll refer back to my giveaway on your blog. If you don’t have a blog, just say so in your comment and I’ll count that for 2 entries 🙂

This is exciting!!!

Happy Monday everyone!

40 Responses to “Brand New Day & a giveaway!!”

  1. Mary Says:

    hey!
    cool giveaway:D
    I love boiled carrots with mayo 🙂
    unfortunatelydont have a blog.

  2. Rachael Says:

    I’ve tried carrots with a variety of different dips (hummus, dressing, etc.) but you just can’t beat plain old baby carrots. You may say boring, but I say delicious. 😉 I have a link back to your blog mentioning this giveaway, so that’s 2 entries right?… Suhweet!

    Rachael*

  3. Erica Says:

    My favorite way to eat carrots is in carrot cake oatmeal (which I had for breakfast this morning)! I’ll link this giveaway on my blog in my next post 🙂

  4. Jenny Says:

    I can not even fathom how incredible a banana fosters bar must be! nom nom nom.

    my fav. way to eat carrots is with nut butter. Well, that’s my favorite way to eat anything 🙂

    happy monday, precious!


  5. mm that bar sounds amazing!! i must try those recipes too, i really should start making a list 🙂
    carrots hmm i love them all ways! favorite is probably with salsa & cottage cheese. odd i know, but its divine!
    happy monday dear!!
    xoxo

  6. seekmyself Says:

    I love making dips with plain yogurt and some herbs! So that would definitely be my favorite way to eat carrots… crunchy and raw with some fresh tasting dip. I’ll mention your giveaway in my next post 🙂

    PS. SO jealous over the banana bar… I haven’t found a place in my city that sells those bars yet, if they even sell them in Canada at all… boo 😦

  7. Lexi Says:

    Favorite way to eat carrots: raw with spicy mustard!

  8. louisianagrown Says:

    My favorite way to eat carrots is definitely in the homemade vegetable soup that I had for lunch today. 🙂

  9. Katharina Says:

    Yoo girl!! 😀 That hummus sounds sooo good with feta cheese! I don’t add tahini in my hummus when I make it.. I never really got the point of it because I like the taste of chickpeas so.. the more the merrier lol. Actually last night I made a hummus inspired by this line of dessert hummus. I never see them in stores so I figured I’d just look at the ingredients and test it out myself. DEEELICIOUS! But I’m going to stop here so I won’t spoil the surprise 😉

    XO

    p.s. I LOVE the pictures of you and your friends on NYE!! You look h-o-t-t (TWO T’S) mama!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  10. Elizabeth Says:

    I love to eat carrots with peanut butter! or roasted with beets, parsnips, and oregano.
    I don’t have a blog yet 😦

  11. chrysta Says:

    awesome! My favorite way to eat carrots is just plain! I love them when they are so sweat and crunchy. Roasting em up a little helps too!

  12. chrysta Says:

    posting on my blog too!

  13. maggie Says:

    First of all..pears with banana? Genius! Second, loving the recipes. And third you will die when you see whats going up in my shop this week. It involves carrots and the 1940’s. To die for! My favorite way to eat carrots? Since I was a babe my mom juiced them and put it in my bottle, didn’t dig milk, so I guess the same goes today. But sometimes a crunchy bag of carrots and hummus hits the spot!

    xoxo
    Maggie

  14. maggie Says:

    PS: Linking this as soon as I can!

    xoxo

  15. Neela Marijana Says:

    hurray i love giveaway!
    my favorite way to eat carrots is actually really boring. just plain and raw with a lovely crunch 😉
    xoxo
    happy new year my love

  16. daintyvegan Says:

    Giveawayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy! That stuff looks awesome! I love carrots just as they are or steamed.. or stir-fried. I’ve never tried carrot juice yet but I want to…..

    I’m going to my blog right now and linking back here. 😀


  17. […] you ladies! ***EDIT*** The lovely Sam over at Merit to the Carrot is having a fabulous giveaway so go check it out! Lots of yummy looking […]

  18. monica Says:

    With almond butter for sure!!!-(tj crunchy raw!:)

  19. Emily Says:

    I lurve carrots in hummus or good ‘ol ranch dressing!

    and of course I will link you in my next post, which will be up very soon 🙂

  20. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    your eats look delicious- i gottta get those bars love!
    & yay for your first giveaway- i like carrots in mustard..is that weird??

  21. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    ill post about your giveaway in my next post!!

  22. Kathleen Says:

    MMM…carrots and red pepper hummus 🙂 DELISH!

  23. Katie Says:

    My favorite way to eat carrots is in banana-carrot soft serve! I just invented it tonight. I pureed a frozen banana with some freshly made carrot juice, cinnamon, and nutmeg! It was DELICIOUS!!! 🙂

  24. Reigne Says:

    My favourite way to eat carrots? In carrot cake of course! (Or carrot cake oatmeal at that.). Okay, I admit, that I am not a self confessed carrot lover. I’ve never really liked their flavour (with the exception of juiced carrots) and have always seemed to struggle with chewing them properly. However, I’m never, ever going to turn down carrot sticks when their served with Hummus or Guac.

    I’ve also posted a rather desperate, (rhyming) plea to you on my blog. http://www.babyhealthnut.wordpress.com .
    Yes, I know the rhyme has no consideration for tenses (who needs grammar anyway?) and I’ve forgotten to link, but pretty please with a cherry on top could you read it? (Then you’ll see how truly desperate I am.)

    Xoxo. Reigne.

  25. kbwood Says:

    ahh fav way to eat carrots..with almond butter!

  26. Mary Richerson Says:

    I love to eat carrots in carrot cake…or just straight up. 🙂

  27. Mary Richerson Says:

    I don’t have a blog yet… 😦
    but I really want to start one soon.


  28. carrot in Carrot cake… yum!


  29. […] last, but not least… one of YOU may be getting something new! Make sure to enter my giveaway! It ends Wednesday, January 6th at 9pm. So get those entries in! Plus, I’m tossing in this […]

  30. Brookie Says:

    I actually love to eat carrots by themselves! However I have a sort of ritual-esque way of eating them. I nibble around all sides (almost like a rabbit) to reveal the ever-so saught after carrot core! This above all is the yummiest part of the carrot–although I’m sure it tastes no different. However, the work makes it all the more tastier! Try it! and you shall taste the might of the carrot core! 🙂

  31. Katie Says:

    I know I left a comment and carrot recipe yesterday, but I am going to link this giveaway to my blog tonight! 🙂 2 entries, right? 😉

  32. Mandiee Says:

    Oh that is simply too hard to decide! Carrot fries (either microwaved or roasted in the oven for warm pleasure) with almond butter for dipping has become a staple for me but Carrot Cake Oatmeal is also a favorite. I do love my veggies :D! I also have a blog so I will link to your giveaway in my next post. Thanks for such a great giveaway!


  33. ps i did link to you on my last post 😉


  34. Great Giveaway. I love carrots shredded in salad!! YUM!!!!!!!!!

    Pick me!!!!!!!

  35. Clara Says:

    I love love love carrots with garlic hummus!! But carrots are soo versatile– I would probably love them with anything 🙂

  36. Clara Says:

    Unfortunately I do not have a blog….


  37. […] it through all of that and managed to connect the dots of my crazy point, you deserve to win my giveaway. Last couple of hours to […]

  38. Mandiee Says:

    Heya! I finally did my post featuring your giveaway. And in honor of your giveaway, I think I might even make some carrot cake oats tomorrow or friday. Yum yum! Here’s the link to your feature, incase you want to look it up: http://sweettreatsandveganeats.blogspot.com/2010/01/would-you-like-some-kindness-with-that.html
    Thanks again for the great giveaway!

  39. Kate Says:

    Funny I should cross this post and your blog as I’ve just turned into a carrot nut! I keep sticking carrots in every crack of my recipes as I can! But lately I really love having them in my tart, made with almond meal and dates as the crust, and grated apple, raisins and finely grated carrot as the topping. Delish! By the way, your giveaway is making me drool!


Leave a Reply

