Pardon my absence!

January 2, 2010

Sorry, bloggies. My blogging, or lack there of, is a result of my jam packed week in AZ.

Food, first.. naturallly-

Sam 080

I made my papa and myself some steel cut oats the first morning. I topped them with sliced banana, dried cranberry, TJ’s pumpkin butter, pecans, and a little dark chocolate ๐Ÿ˜‰

One day, we went to True Food for lunch!

Sam 083 Sam 082

True Food is a concept restaurant–a collaboration between awesomeย restaurateur, Sam Fox & health Guru, Dr. Andrew Weil.

Everything is fantastically delicious and nutritious.

Sam 084

I ordered the Quinoa Tabouli salad (quinoa, parsley, beets, pomegranate, almonds, lemon juice, and olive oil over a bed or arugula). ย Possibly the prettiest thing I’ve ever eaten.

Sam 085

Nick ordered the Turkey Pita Wrap which had grapes, cucumbers, & some kind of yogurt dressing served with sweet potato hash.

For supper one night, I prepared a roasted sweet potato & squash salad with chickpeas & hummus!

My dad missed my cooking.

This hummus is bomb diggity.

Trader Joe’s was just as fantastic as I remembered.

Random snackage-

Breakfast, compliments of TJ. TJ’s greek yogurt, TJ’s frozen blueberries, TJ’s Pumpkin Spice Granola, TJ’s pb…

New books! Love both of them. I’m only on Chapter 1 of U.S. of Arugula, and this cookbook is phenomenal!!!

And my dad’s Christmas gift to me!

…wait to see what it can do ;)….

Aside from the food, I had the most sensational time with my friends. Particularly on New Year’s Eve!!

NYE2

NYE

I love them more than any words can describe. This was the best NYE I’ve ever had.

How was yours?

Now off to unpack, grocery shop, & get ready for school Monday!

16 Responses to “Pardon my absence!”

  1. seekmyself Says:

    Welcome back Sam! Glad you had a good trip and an awesome new year’s eve. Mine was quiet and relaxing this year; I didn’t go out. Happy new year, hun!

  2. daintyvegan Says:

    Hey there! The food pictures have me drooling.. almost. Did you try any of those cool looking True Foods drinks?

    Your New Year’s looks like it was a blast! I partied it up that night, too. ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    you are so gorgeous!! happy new year… i missed your posts ๐Ÿ™‚ your food looks great and that restaurant sounds amazing.

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. Emily Says:

    I’ve never been to trader joes, I wanna go so bad!

    Glad to hear you had a great NYE ๐Ÿ™‚

    All your eats are so beautiful, as always!

    xoxo

  5. Anne Says:

    Hey girl! That’s great you had a good AZ trip. I’ve never heard of that restaurant–it looks delicious! I totally need to go there when I’m back in AZ. I’m glad you had such a great New Years. Mine was nice, too ๐Ÿ™‚


  6. ah happy new year babe! looks like a rocking time!
    mm delicious eats! that restaurant sounds & looks amazing!
    i know 2010 is going to be wonderful for you ๐Ÿ™‚
    xoxo

  7. Jenny Says:

    ah sweetie, I have been thinking of you like crazy recently – wondering where my lovepie was! so thrilled that you’re back ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like you had an amaze holiday!

    p.s. I have that Moosewood cookbook! Please inspire me to whip it out and cook some stuff. My culinary skills are seriously lacking.

  8. determinedtoshine Says:

    Oh wow, please come and make me oats tomorrow morning? ๐Ÿ™‚ that combo looks absolutely amazing!
    and im so glad you welcomed the new year in in style! wishing you a very healthy and happy 2010.

    much love
    xo

  9. Rachael Says:

    Hello stranger! I’m glad you’re back to blogging but even MORE thrilled that you had fun while in Arizona.
    That bowl of oats reminds me of a very tasty pyramid ๐Ÿ˜‰ because of the dark chocolate cap.

    Rachael*

  10. Dad Says:

    Awesome pics and even better in person:-)

  11. Katie Says:

    Yummy food! ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t want to go back to school on Monday….boooooo ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. Reigne Says:

    Mmm. Everything looks soo delicious! ๐Ÿ˜€ (Especially the oatmeal… and chocolate!)

    This is going to sound rather weird… but could you do a tutorial post on how to make yummy vegetarian dinners (like yours)? I am absolutely clueless when it comes to cooking… and would really benefit from a tutorial nature. Hopefully, their are others out there who feel the same….

    ๐Ÿ˜€ Reigne.

    Oh, and I have a mandoline as well. Even with the safety guard, I still managed to julienne my finger, so be careful! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • merittothecarrot Says:

      Reigne- I would absolutely love to oblige your request. Expect a tutorial this week, for I have some tasty recipes a’comin!


  13. i really need to start adding pecans to my breakfast!! they look so good ๐Ÿ™‚

    ohh that restaurant sounds so good!! That man has some great magazines!

    happy 2010 ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Lexi Says:

    Delicious looking eats! I want to go to that restaurant!
    Lots of love,
    Lex


  15. Oh, yum! That sweet potato and squash salad looks amazing!


Leave a Reply

