They call me mellow yellow, quite rightly.

December 28, 2009

They call me mellow yellow.

(He’s She’s so mellow, he’s She’s so yellow.) 

Electrical banana,
Is gonna be a sudden craze.
Electrical banana,
Is bound to be the very next phase.

Electrical Banana

Mighty Maple MugHere’s my electrical banana. Within this mug lay one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had. Simple, yet extraordinary. Cream of Wheat + Xagave + Banana + My first blob of Mighty Maple PB = a ridiculous picture of me sticking my face into a mug, trying to lick it clean.

A few days ago, I received a package from Xagave. Premium Raw Agave Nectar w/ Calcium!! As one who lacks in the calcium department, I was more than thrilled to see this bonus… that, and the fact that Xagave is local! They also sent me an awesome little cookbook.

Xagave

Last night, I made one of my most favorite meals of couscous and LOTS of veggies (on a mellow yellow plate).

Couscous w. Zucchini, Red Onion, Brussels Sprouts, Corn, Kidney Beans, & Parmesan.

I’m sure you have noticed by now that I love grains + veggies + beans for dinner. It’s just a killer combo to me.  Aside from taste, I love it because: bulk bin grains are very inexpensive, both fresh & frozen veggies can be utilized, very easy/quick, & it’s nutritious!

Moving on to something a little more mellow…

Two new yellow additions to my wardrobe. Yellow is my absolute favorite color, mustard being tops… But I don’t discriminate, for even neon yellow has its place in my closet.

Tonight, I will be off to Arizona to visit my family & friends. I’m quite excited, especially because I will get to go to TRADER JOE’S. I used to be in there twice a week, so this trip is long over due.  I should be able to blog while I’m there, but if not, I promise to make up for it.

Have a Marvelous Monday!

15 Responses to “They call me mellow yellow, quite rightly.”

  1. louisianagrown Says:

    I totally have that shirt from the gap, but mine is blue and gray. I LOVE the color yellow, but my skin looks so sallow if I wear it.

  2. maggie Says:

    Love xagave! And mustard is my favorite color too 🙂

    Maggie

  3. determinedtoshine Says:

    Love your cous cous dinner. I don’t know where my diet would be without my grains and veggies 🙂
    And yellow was always one of my favourite colours since I was little, because it was the colour of bananas! Although because I’m blonde it doesn’t really suit me.

    xo

  4. Rachael Says:

    I LOVE the beautiful collage on the wall in your closet, especially the article/picture that says “Live in a tree. Free.” I’ve always secretly wished I lived in a tree house.
    You’re gonna need strong bones for all that heavy duty shopping in TJ’s! After all the time that’s elapsed, you have some yummy food shopping catching up to do. 😉 Hope you have fun visiting AZ.

    Rachael*

  5. seekmyself Says:

    Mmm yellow. Such a happy and uplifting color. Unfortunately, it doesn’t go well with my skin tone so I can’t really wear it… bummer… but I enjoy looking at it nonetheless 😀 Hope you have a wonderful time in AZ… catch some sun for those of us who are freezing in our booties!

  6. Katharina Says:

    I love yellow too 😀 I love this post and everything sounds so fun and your tops are so pretty!!! Such a cool collage on your closet – I just want to dive in 🙂 Ooo and guess what? You can use electric bananas to make the banana coconut cheesecake! IT”S SO EASY!!!!!!!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com


  7. mm what a way to start your morning! divine!!
    i think i’ve only had couscous in tabouli, that dinner plate looks amazing!
    well i’ve totally got on yellow today, we’ll say its in honor of you 😉
    have fun in arizona! buy everythinggg at trader joes!!
    xoxo

  8. Katie Says:

    Okay 3 things:

    1. I just noticed that your title makes a carrot shape. How dumb am I? Haha

    2. My local grocery store just started carrying Xagave! I didn’t know what made it so special, but now I see that it has extra calcium. Cool. Maybe I will contact the company for some possible samples. 😉

    3. I ALMOST bought that yellow top from Gap a month ago. 🙂

  9. daintyvegan Says:

    The color yellow is definitely wonderful and I need more of it. I love the new shirts! And as others have mentioned, your collage is super cool, I think I probably noticed it before the shirts.

    I wish Canada had a TJs… boo.

  10. Jenny Says:

    ah simplicity at it’s finest ❤ That bowl sounds amaze!

    I have been really curious about Xagave (seems like all the bloggies and their mamas are tryin' it). I had no idea it contained added calcium. That's monnnnney! I actually have osteopenia (a mild form of osteoporosis) so can use all the extra calcium I can get.

    Love you my little yellow ray of sunshine 🙂

  11. Emily Says:

    I love all the yellow!

    Those pieces in your closet are adorable 🙂

    yummy food as always – beans, grains, veggies…what else could a girl need?

    xoxo

  12. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    this post put a huuge smiel on my face- love the collor yellow 🙂 these pictures are adorable

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com


  13. This post is overflowing with happiness 😛 .. It must be all the yellow 🙂

    Sadly, I don’t have mighty maple here… but PB and maple syrup is my ultimate favourite combination EVER! Maybe it’s a good thing I don’t have my own jar.. 😛 hehe

    Keep up the positivity – it’s so inspirational my dear! Thank you!
    xox
    Tat

  14. Emily Says:

    Couscous is definitely one of my fave foods. I love how you paired it with all sorts of veggies.

    I adore yellow, too, especially mustard! It’s so classy and vintagey all at once. Love your new wardrobe additions.

  15. Reigne Says:

    Nomm nomm. I am loving your recent cous-cous action, Sam. Cous-cous and beans seems like such an obvious combo, yet I haven’t even tried it! (Must do, sometime.)

    Me = very jealous of your wardrobe! It looks so pretty! Especially the collage… And the Mustard jacket!

    As another commenter said, keep up with the positivity! Your posts, indeed, are very inspiring, amusing, and creative!
    🙂 Reigne


Leave a Reply

