Twas the Thursday before Christmas…

December 24, 2009

…and all through the house, not a creature was stir, except for one mouse…

That mouse would be me, for I was putting myself together a little bowl of bliss-

Raisin Cinnamon Buckwheat GranolaKaia Raisin Cinnamon Buckwheat Granola. w/ a banana & vanilla soymilk. Accompanied by Lemongrass Green Tea.

This wasย mind blowing. I think it will be hard for me to go back to oat based granola now…. this was perfectly chewy & crunchy. Unlike most cereals that boast ‘raisin’ in their title, this stuff did not fail to deliver. I encourage you all to go to your nearest Whole Foods and purchase some of this raw granola. You won’t regret it.

Let us pray, there is hummus among us.

Hummus Among Us

Blue Moose of Boulder Hummus. Best in the US. My mom got this for me 2 days ago…. and now it’s gone. All 12oz of it.

Of course, I had a little help from my friends.

We have no shame.

2009 has flown by. I’ve experienced a lot (mostly from May onward), such as:

  • Merit to the Carrot was born in May.
  • I was in San Francisco for 6 weeks, living in a dorm with other artsy teens, for the Academy Of Art University’s Pre-College Summer Art Program, and I took a break from blogging.
  • I met the love of my life, Grant–a wrinkled, sun beaten carrot farmer– who taught me all there is to know about carrots at the Ferry Building Farmer’s Market.
  • I ate a purple carrot.
  • A boy, who is now called Satan, convinced me that he really liked me, and then decided he’d become a Polygamist on me… for he soo slyly tried to date another girl at the same time. Oh, joy.
  • I attended the Gay Pride Parade on Market Street.
  • I turned 16!
  • My mom (on her own) moved all of our stuff up to a new house in Salt Lake City in July, because Nick and I were off at art camp.
  • Nick and I came home to a new home up on a mountain, and fell in love with our new surroundings.
  • My older brother (who has lived in Utah my whole life) moved in with us. I am so so so glad that he came into my life. This is probably the highlight of my year.
  • I was the ‘new kid’ at a new highschool, and almost shit my pants with fear.
  • I made new friends, whom I love dearly.
  • I joined BBYO, a youth Jewish Organization.
  • I went to Spain!
  • I restarted the blog.
  • I went to my first dance, Winter Formal.
  • I shoveled my first driveway.

Pretty exciting, right? hah.

I leave you with yet another Nick quote.

My brother grabbed my massive, quart sized water bottle and used it as a gavel while shouting:

Order in the Quart

“Order in the Quart!”

Mind you, he is 14 years old and we are extremely cheesy.

14 Responses to “Twas the Thursday before Christmas…”

  1. Emily Says:

    Your brother is pretty creative when it comes to his words, isn’t he?

    You’ve had a pretty exciting year! That art academy sounds marvelous, your 16th birthday, SPAIN, a new highschool…all sorts of change in your life has happened these past 12 months!

    Happy Holidays – enjoy ’em ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo

  2. louisianagrown Says:

    What a crazy busy year! Sounds super fun, especially the traveling part.


  3. all this post did was to bring a huge smile to my face!
    ps your brother is hysterical!
    man girl you’ve had quite a year, you motivate me beyond belief! i hope to find myself a purple carrot one day ๐Ÿ™‚
    hope you’re enjoying the holidays!
    xoxo

  4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    OMG bbyo!!!! honey, i was the regional president!! tell me about your experience w/ bbyo? i made some of my best friends of my lIFE in that organization. you are amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. glidingcalm Says:

    KAIA granola is soooooooooooooooo good!!

    And I was born in May too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Jenny Says:

    if a purple carrot isn’t the mark of a good year, I don’t know what is. Hoping that 2010 brings you tons of happiness and more foodie adventures. I have no doubt that it will ๐Ÿ™‚

    p.s. Rudy just told Deb he’s the ice truck killer on the boat and now she’s unconscious! Watching the season finale tonight. Can.not.wait!

    Love you! xo

  7. Tricia Says:

    Sounds like a busy year!

  8. Rachael Says:

    I say this in the least creepy way possible, but I’m sort of in love with your brother. Apparently I have a thing for cheesiness ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Wow, this has been an incredibly transformative year for you! Boys named Satan, purple carrots AND shoveled driveways?!?! Seriously though, you should be proud of yourself. Sounds like this year was full of changes (New school = terror) and that you were really brave and strong through it all. Hope you have a marvelous Christmas!

    Rachael*

  9. seekmyself Says:

    Sounds like you had a pretty awesome 2009 girl! I remember reading your blog before you left for San Francisco. I was sad to see you stop blogging, and happy to see that you came back ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you’re having some great holidays. Merry Christmas Eve! xox

  10. katie Says:

    Happy Holidays to you and your family girl!!!! xoxo

  11. Kathleen Says:

    MERRY XMAS girl ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. daintyvegan Says:

    Regardless of what you think, I think that your year sounded exciting. Hello! Spain?? Purple carrots? Hook me up!

    Anddddddd Merry Christmas! Maybe next year will be a bit more exciting for you? ๐Ÿ˜›

  13. Katie Says:

    Wow, awesome year! I am glad that you got back to blogging. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Oh, and your brother’s joke was amusing. Sounds like you have a great family. Have a great holiday season! 2010 is right around the corner…


  14. purple carrot!!? now that is pretty cool ๐Ÿ™‚
    have a very merry christmas! glad that your brother moved back in withyou!


Leave a Reply

