I shoot

December 19, 2009

First off, I am endlessly thankful for your wishes regarding Cornell! You are all so supportive and wonderful.

I started off this Saturday with a smile on my face, for it’s every blogger’s favorite, Oats in a Jar!

Oats in a Jar

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl PB jar and banana pumpkin oats! Now, this was my third time trying to oh so famous OIAJ technique. Yes it was a charm, however; the only time I’ve truly been blown away by OIAJ was my first attempt. It was also with Cinnamon Raisin Swirl, but it was just so much better the first time. I’m not saying I didn’t like it this time, though… Of course I showed that empty jar who’s boss.

Yesterday, I made some of the Everythingtarian’s Vegan Pumpkin Molasses Cookies for the second time. They are sooooo good.

Pumpkin Molasses Cookies something's missing...

….I spy with my little eye a missing cookie… 😉

I followed her recipe, except I omitted the sugar coating, ginger (we didn’t have any 😦 ), and oil. To bind the wet ingredients, I used Chobani 2% in lieu of 1/3c canola oil… making the cookies not so vegan, but I’m fine with that. My family loves these cookies!

Chobani 2%- great to bake with

To keep up with the Chobani trend, I present to you yesterday’s breakfast and afternoon snack-

Banana Oats with a dollop of Honey Chobani and a Sunland PB drizzle.

Banana Oats with Honey Chobani and Peanut Butter

It was very tasty, but the yogurt kind of masked the flavor of the oatmeal. I prefer a grainy taste to dairy when it comes to my morning bowl of oats. Regardless, it was delicious.

After school and before I got my Bette Crocker on, I ate the rest of my Honey Chobani and some cucumber.

Afternoon Snack of Honey Chobani and Cucumber

I’ve gotten several comments asking what camera I use. Thank you all for the amazing compliments on my photographs! It warms my heart.

I shoot with this bad boy-

Canon PowerShot SD790 IS

I love it. It has great macro and digital macro features. All I need for those meal closeups!

Happy Holidays! Enjoy your break and spend time with those who are dearest to you! Volunteer and help those less fortunate. Do a random act of kindness everyday, if you can!

15 Responses to “I shoot”

  1. Jenny Says:

    ah, so that little bay bay is the secret to your gorg. photography. Nooooice.

    p.s. last night Ginge got me HOOKED on Dexter and It made me think of you. I am OBSESSED. We only watched the first 3 episodes, but hot damn. My first thought this morning was literally “I want to watch Dexter” .. so, I’m subscribing to netflix solely for that purpose. I’m such a TV junkie.

    love you muffin!

  2. Kristine Says:

    I heard great things about that camera! I just started blogging and definitely need a new one. I am sending prayers for you and Cornell! 🙂


  3. oh man that camera rocks!! and those cookies look amazing, so gorgeous!
    happy weekend dear!
    xoxo

  4. seekmyself Says:

    Sam, your photo’s ARE amazing. I’m still working on my photography skill (or lack thereof) but it’s proven to be an amazingly fun hobby thus far.
    I’ve seen those cookies around the blog world… Now I really want to make some… It’s a perfect day for baking too; the snow outside makes it cozy inside, and the smell of freshly baked cookies would be divine. So thank you for the inspiration.
    Hope you’re having a great holiday break as well! 🙂

  5. findinghappinessandhealth Says:

    that camera looks like it’d be really good.. & why are your eats so freakin delicious?! jealous
    xoxo
    sheley
    http;//findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. daintyvegan Says:

    I need a camera like that! My camera works quite well when I can figure out how to work all the crazy settings but I’m more than ready for a new one. I’m tired of having to lug around such a big camera and just want one that takes gorgeous pictures but won’t weigh me down.. haha.

    Do you melt the PB to make it all drizzlish?

  7. determinedtoshine Says:

    those cookies look delish! i will have to try those out this holiday. and im so jealous of the OIAJ – i need to do some serious PB eating before i get to the end of my jar 😦

    and i’d love to know any photography tips you have – your photos truly are stunning 🙂

  8. Emily Says:

    OIAJ look magnificent 🙂

    My sister has that camera, and I have one similar…you are right – the macro features are really great.

    happy holidays!
    xoxo


  9. Wow, you really are a great photographer! I love the look of your oats, so creamy and sweet, like dessert for breakfast!

    And wow, those cookies look and sound just like my Autumn Spice cookies! Fabulous!

  10. Rachael Says:

    You shoot and SCORE! I have a sneaking suspicion that even if I had your kickass camera my pics wouldn’t look half as beautiful as yours.

    Rachael*


  11. yay for cornell! I went to ithaca college so I am very farmilar with the area!! its so much fun there, geat college town!!

    the banana oats look FANTASTIC!


  12. yay for cornell, new camera and those cookies! gah…they are just so good. i mean, usually my recipes turn out okay, but this one i am totally proud of. lots of love to you girl!

  13. jenna Says:

    hey!
    i just came across your blog and i can’t wait to keep reading 🙂
    i would love it if you could come check out my blog and follow as well!
    Jenna


Leave a Reply

