Pretty Pistachio.

December 17, 2009

pretty pistachio

Possibly the prettiest nut. I felt bad eating it…

IMG_6605

Obviously not that bad.

Pistachios contain just 1.5 grams of saturated fat and 13 grams of fat – the majority of which comes from monounsaturated fat. A one-ounce serving of pistachios equals 49 nuts – more per serving than any other snack nut. One serving of pistachios has as much potassium as half a large banana. I’ve been snacking on them like crazy!

While snacking, my eyes feasted upon some glorious snail mail-

Dream School

Cornell. My goal. My future (hopefully!)

Say a little prayer for me everyday. Your support will get me in πŸ˜‰

...typical lunch.

Today’s lunch consisted of the usual carrots and cucumber, apple and heart thrive. Apricot, to be more specific. I’ve been enjoying these all week as a component of my lunch (which never sees much variety)… this flavor was tasty, but with all my might, I couldn’t catch that apricot flavor I so desperately yearned for. I did, however, taste the almond extract within the first bite. Even though it was the last ingredient, its taste was definitely the most dominating. No complaining though, I thoroughly enjoyed it in US History when my tummy started to make noises.

Last night’s supper for the family:

Edamame Alfredo

Edamame Alfredo

Atop the daily bed of spinach lay whole wheat linguine and Alfredo sauce made with broccoli, celery, onion, and edamame. I used Simply Organic’s Alfredo sauce packet and subbed just milk and a dab of butter for vegetable broth and a dash of milk. I was worried the broth would leave the sauce a little runny, but my worries were put to rest upon first bite.

Twas tasty.

I hope everyone had themselves a Thrilling Thursday–deep down inside, we’re all wishing we could kick it with the ‘Crazy 88s’ like Uma Thurman does.

11 Responses to “Pretty Pistachio.”

  1. Jenny Says:

    only you could take something as simple as a pistachio and make it in to a piece of heart. Skills, girl. Serious skills.

    Forget Cornell, come to my school!

    Just kidding.

    No I’m not.

    πŸ™‚

  2. maya Says:

    love pistachios πŸ™‚ that photo is gorgeous and I HEART heart thrives πŸ˜‰ so good!

  3. findinghappinessandhealth Says:

    oh my goshh that is the prettiest pistachio i’ve ever seen!! i had a snack of pistachios today too πŸ˜€ and cornell- i’m impressed πŸ™‚ you’re going to do greatt. are you a junior? just keep workin hardd you’ll get in !

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. daintyvegan Says:

    Pistachios are soo fantastically yummy. Actually, any kind of nut is good in my eyes. Huh. That could almost be inappropriate… haha.


  5. so i never realized pistachios look like that, gorgeous!
    sending all my well wishes for cornell my dear, you’ve got it πŸ™‚
    now i know i’ve said it once, but i’m saying it again, please come be my personal chef. pretty please?
    xoxo

  6. Katie Says:

    Good luck with Cornell! πŸ™‚

  7. determinedtoshine Says:

    wow your photography is amazing! what kind of camera do you use? i love pistachios too πŸ™‚ definitely the prettiest nut.

    xo hannah

  8. Rachael Says:

    You are SUCH an incredible photographer. Seriously, it blows my mind. It’s probably a good thing my pistachios aren’t that pretty or I’d feel so bad eating them!
    And I’ll be sending you positive Cornell infused vibes every day πŸ˜‰

    Rachael*

  9. Lo Says:

    i must try those thrive treats! ahh and cornell would be lucky to have you! good luck chia!

    lolo

  10. kbwood Says:

    aww girl i am sure you will get your dream college! keep praying-youll end up exactly where you need to be!

    whered you find yo heart thrives??

  11. Emily Says:

    pistachios are the best!

    good luck with Cornell πŸ™‚

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

