Sweet Rose

December 14, 2009

For breakfast this morning, I made myself a bowl of something near and dear to my stomach heart…Overnight Oats! I don’t know if any of you remember from my old posts (circa May-June), I used to eat this every morning with different fruit. I made the most beautiful breakfasts back in the day πŸ˜‰ Exhibit A:

Without further ado, I present to you my breakfast that was long over due…

Strawberry Banana Overnight Oats

1/2c oats, cinnamon, & 1/2 vanilla soy milkΒ refrigeratedΒ overnight. chopped strawberries and 1/2 a banana added in the morning, as well as a few pistachios and some Trader Joe’s Raw Creamy AB.

I forgot how amazing non-cooked breakfasts taste πŸ™‚

I never feature what I bring to school for lunch, but I felt today’s was worthy… for it’s Date Heart Thrive review! Here we have an apple, both yellow & orange carrots, cucumber, leftover roasted kabocha and one heart thrive!

I dub this flavor 5/5 on the scale of tastiness. I remember this flavor being my favorite over the summer… I don’t know what it is about great dates, but they always leave me wanting more (pun intended)! Same texture as the others, except it has bits of chewy dates πŸ™‚ Me gustan.

And this is why my post is named ‘Sweet Rose‘. I made Sweet Potato Broccoli Lasagna for supper tonight using her recipe. So damn tasty.

Here’s a late Sunday lunch of spinach, chickpeas, and freshly roasted kabocha with a little ketchup πŸ˜‰

…and here’s the awesome snow cloud that swept across the valley! It was so gorgeous.

Now, I want you to do something. Tomorrow make it your mission to compliment 3 people you don’t know.

Have a terrific Tuesday!

14 Responses to “Sweet Rose”

  1. Rose Says:

    Ah! I’m so glad to see you made the recipe and liked it! Yours looks scrumptious. I already want to make this again.

  2. Katharina Says:

    WOW!!!!!! That is beautiful! Isn’t it amazing all the colors that foods can have? And even the shapes of them and some of them look cool when you slice them πŸ˜€ Not only is it beautiful but it sounds delectable. What a great way to start the day πŸ˜‰

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  3. kbwood Says:

    those are BEAUTIFUL overnight oats! im dying to try the heart thrives..i need to find them asap! whered you find yours?

  4. shell625 Says:

    your oats look amazing!! the pictures are the best part πŸ™‚ and the date heart thrive sounds soo good.

    love ya girll

    xoox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. Kathy marinara Says:

    Just dropping by real quick now….

    YOU GO GIRL!!!!!!
    These meals are looking saucy (although there’s no REAL sauce LOL).
    Haven’t been able to stick around to comment lately. I have something i just really want to get off my chest though, and i know this is a safe place!
    Over the weekend, I was BAAAAD. I ate a chik-fil-a chicken sandwich, REGULAR pizza, and (eek!) took a few drags off my (now ex)-friend’s starbuck’s frappacino!

    From now till new year’s, i vow nothing but Merit-worthy meals for Kathy!
    Thanks for everything!

    Trees&veggies<333

  6. daintyvegan Says:

    Haha, I thought in your first picture, that the nut butter was actually chocolate ice cream. I guess not but maybe that wouldn’t taste so bad?

    And you’re so lucky to have all that snow. We just got a small but pretty amount and now there is rain. 😦

  7. determinedtoshine Says:

    oh WOW your breakfast looks like a work of art! and sweet p lasagne sounds amazing πŸ™‚

    i wholey take up your challenge – random acts of kindness are just so much more special this time of year.

    xo

  8. Katie Says:

    I love overnight oats! Very darling creation you have there at the top. πŸ™‚

  9. Emily Says:

    Your breakfast is so pretty, and that lasagna looks amazing!
    I ate overnight oats/breakfast cookies every day this summer. πŸ™‚


  10. oh my goodness how beautiful your eats are πŸ™‚ now how do you do your overnight oats? i’ve mad them a few times, but not sure i’ve found the right proportions…
    i am going to work on complimenting 3 people asap πŸ™‚
    hope you have a wonderful tuesday!!
    xoxo

  11. Jenny Says:

    pure art ❀ you have such a talent for capturing beauty, girl — your creativity is awe inspiring! Love you beautiful!

  12. Emily Says:

    you are such a good food presenter! it all looks beautiful and delicious πŸ™‚

  13. louisianagrown Says:

    I had a HUGE box of sweet potatoes sitting in my pantry for like a month, and it was such a struggle to find different things to cook with them. This lasagna looks amazing, but of course they’re all gone now! Luckily, they’re just about the cheapest thing at the fruit stand, so it shouldn’t be too much of a problem for me to get some more. πŸ™‚


  14. That might be one of the prettiest breakfasts I have ever seen. Wow. I’m inspired! I’ve read about overnight oats on blogs for awhile now but this post has just pushed me over the edge and I am heading to the kitchen now so that I’ll have my own bowl in the morning…though it won’t be nearly as gorgeous as yours.


Leave a Reply

