Pasta, please!

December 2, 2009

Mmmm.. just thinking about what I  made the family for dinner last night makes me hungry. It was possibly the best pasta I’ve had in a while…

It all started with:

IMG_6363

Wow. I usually prefer to make my own marinara, but I had no shame in opening up this puppy. It’s probably the best I’ve tried! It wasn’t too spicy (could hardly taste it) and it had the marvelous sweetness of tomatoes 🙂 I’d give this a two thumbs up and a high recommendation.

First, I cooked up some lentils & seasoned the water with garlic and garlic salt. Let’s just say my house was the last one that any Vampire girl scouts would want to sell any cookies. I love me some garlic. Once they were done cooking & perfectly tender, I cooked an onion until tender, and added a package of chopped frozen broccoli-

IMG_6364

then I added the lentils…

IMG_6365

…and the wonder sauce!

IMG_6366

And veggies+lentils+awesome sauce= lip lickin’ good.

Lentil Pasta

Thank goodness we have leftovers. And if you haven’t noticed, I put every dinner I eat over a bed of spinach. I don’t think of it as a salad, just more of a nutritious volumizer. The more spinach = the less pasta.  I don’t know about you, but I like my plate to look not scarce… and spinach always helps, plus you don’t feel guilty for having a heaping pile on your plate 🙂

Today’s breaky, you’ve seen it repeated a lot lately–

Apple Oats

Winter Formal is this Saturday! It’s supposed to snow, too… how appropriate 🙂 I can’t wait to post pictures…

Happy Hump-day!

7 Responses to “Pasta, please!”

  1. Jenny Says:

    I love your spinach method … personally I prefer getting my greens in topped with pasta 🙂

  2. Emily Says:

    great spinach idea! I’ll have to use that one – and the lentils in the with the sauce is great too.

    yum yum 🙂

  3. Meg Says:

    Hiya! Thanks for commenting on my blog! I love yours – and cannot wait to read more!

    I love hte idea for the spinach, I have a bag in my fridge that needs to be used up asap 🙂

    Have a great Wednesday evening!!

  4. Anne Says:

    I love that you had the pasta on a bed of spinach. That’s such a great idea! So good for you, too 🙂

  5. Shelley Says:

    yum that pasta looks so good! hope you have a good night 🙂


  6. Great dish. Wants to be on my table.

  7. Meggilizz Says:

    I’ve never thought of putting lentils in spaghetti sauce–great idea!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

