My second name…

December 1, 2009

…is Style. No, not tre chic style, literary style. In English ALL we have been discussing for what seems like an eternity is style. I’m getting pretty darn good at detecting syntactical devices and fancy diction… so bring it on Hawthorne, Shakespeare, and Dickens! And while we’re on the topic of literature, what’s your favorite classic? Mine is a three way tie between Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Grey, Alexander Dumas’ The Count of Monte Cristo, and Ayn Rand’s The Fountain Head… I love them all!

To fuel my brain through an 82-minute first period, I made one of the simplest (for me), yet most fantastic, bowls of oatmeal ever.

IMG_6359
IMG_6360

Just plain ol’ oatmeal made with vanilla silk and sweetened with stevia. No pumpkin, no banana, no cinnamon even! I topped of the scrumptious simplicity with yet another chopped apple and some almond butter. I forgot how good oats tasted on their own!

IMG_6358

Last night, I made the family some Garlic & Basil Polenta, roasted Brussels sprouts & onion, and spinach & feta chicken sausage. For myself, I subbed out the sausage for some lima beans. Twas delicious.

Yesterday, there was a death threat at my school (“17 Skyline Students will be killed on Dec. 30” written on wall in the boys locker-room), so a lot of people didn’t attend. I went first period, but left shortly after. It was freaky seeing the cops roam the hallways… so instead, I came home, blogged, and watched some Simpsons! Some snacks of mine included:

IMG_6349

Frozen broccoli. Don’t knock it till you try it. Frozen corn is awesome, too.

IMG_6354

IMG_6352

Cascadian Farm Peanut Butter Chip Chewy Granola bar. Did I love it? no. Did I like it? yes. The taste was pretty good, not too sweet. The texture was awful, though. Far too sticky and a not the right kind of ‘chewy’… Plus, I don’t much like Tapioca Syrup being the first ingredient, even before rolled oats. For 140 calories, I didn’t stress about the disappointment. The saving grace for this bar was, of course, peanut butter… in the form of adorable little chips 🙂

IMG_6356

Have a terrific Tuesday! Stay tuned for a Sam Jam Video…

BY THE WAY– Make sure you check out Emily’s lovely giveaway!

9 Responses to “My second name…”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Favorite classic = The Great Gatsby.

  2. crazylittlethingneela Says:

    hihi.. i had to smile at the close up of your finger. so cute with the little peanut on top.
    eats looking all fab.
    i have a few german classic that i really like but i am not sure if you’d know them
    xoxo

  3. Emily Says:

    wonderful oats 🙂

    and I don’t know my favorite classic..I think I have to do some more reading to figure that one out. Right now in english we are learning about british lit – fun fun fun *YAWN*

    thanks for linking me!

  4. maggie Says:

    Yum! I hear ya about the frozen corn..soooo good!

    Lovely eats,
    Maggie

  5. Jenny Says:

    oh my god girl can we have a legit nerd English chat sess? We just finished Hawthorne’s “The Scarlet Letter” in my American Lit class. I read it once in HS and HATED it but my prof. this year opened my eyes to so many symbolic undertones and Hawthorne’s use of dictoin that I never appreciate before. We’re starting Dickinson on Thursday.. can.not.wait.

  6. Jenny Says:

    p.s. my American Lit prof. has a Edgar Allan Poe action figure — is that amaze or what?

  7. Kathy marinara Says:

    Love this girly!

  8. Kathy marinara Says:

    I am inspired by your freshness. So chic & naturally fantabulous. I love your finger in this piq:) it shows that the world is still evolving and humans are purer than ever. In the words of Walt Whitman: “be who you want to be”. Never stop blogging, or I’ll have to give up my all natural granola bites. Which is NOT okay;)

    Trees&veggies<3


Leave a Reply

