Never have I ever…

November 17, 2009

…cooked quinoa! So crazy, right? I’ve eaten it on numerous occasions, but never made it on my own! Last night, I finally did. And let me say, I plan on making it much much more.

Black Bean Butternut Squash Quinoa

(Serves 4-6 very hungry people)

  • 1 butternut squash, size of choice
  • olive oil
  • 1.5 cups uncooked quinoa
  • 1 16 0z. can reduced sodium black beans
  • 1.5c reduced sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • garlic, chopped (to taste)
  • 1 large red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup frozen corn kernels
  • spinach
  • green onions
  • salt and pepper (to taste)
  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Clean the squash and cut it in half horizontally, then vertically. Scrape out and discard the ooey-gooey pumpkin goop with a large spoon. Cut the squash into slivers, chunks, or however you please! Place it on a tray covered with aluminum foil, sprayed with cooking spray. Drizzle them with enough olive oil to lightly coat the surface. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place in oven, cook for 40-50 minutes or until desired texture is reached.
  3. Heat olive oil in a medium sauce pan, saute onion and bell pepper with garlic. Once tender, add the quinoa, black beans (with bean water… it’s reduced sodium, so relax!), frozen corn, and the broth. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
  4. After about 15 minutes of simmering, add a few handfuls of chopped spinach and chopped green onion (I used about ~1/4c).
  5. Once butternut squash is done, place it on a plate and top/mix it with the finished quinoa. Plop a big dollop of hummus on top and you got yourself heaven on a plate.

So easy, a novice can do it.

3 Responses to “Never have I ever…”

  1. Jenny Says:

    I have to say I’m a quinoa virgin myself — now I feel deprived after seeing your creation!

  2. Lexi Says:

    Beautiful. I wish I could stick my fork into the screen. thanks for commenting on my blog! I’ll definitely be reading more of yours 🙂

  3. Anne Says:

    Your quinoa looks so pretty and colorful! Thanks for the recipe–I have to bookmark this 🙂


Leave a Reply

