Pirates and Applesauce

November 16, 2009

both made my weekend.

Friday I experienced the most relished of experiences: complete and utter ENJOYMENT for the entire duration of my movie.  Pirate Radio is my all time favorite movie. I would highly recommend it if: a.) You love 60’s rock (YES PLEASE!) b.) You want to see a sexy young Brit by the name of Tom Sturridge (YUM) c.) You have cinematic intelligence.PirateRadioBefore I ventured off to the cinema, I felt inclined to pick the remaining apples in my backyard before the snow got to them… and good thing I did! Saturday it started snowing and COVERED my apple tree. IMG_6002IMG_6005My Little Brother patronizes me.

IMG_6008IMG_6012IMG_6013IMG_6016Not the prettiest, but the damn tastiest applesauce I’ve ever had!

I used about 2o mini apples, cleaned em’, boiled them with ~1c water, immeasurable amounts of cinnamon, cloves (BEST addition), nutmeg and ppspice. I let it get all mushy, then plopped it into the blender and let it rip! Voila. Home made organic applesauce.

IMG_6030I made my brother pancakes the other day and topped them off with it and he seemed rather pleased!

IMG_6028However, I find its addition much MORE successful in this beauty. I like to call it ‘Bi-Pie Banana Oats (in a jar)’

~1/2c oats, 1/3c vanilla silk, 2/3c water, a few big spoonfuls of pumpkin and an equal amount of applesauce, 1 small nanner, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, cloves, nutmeg and stevia.

I think of it as my take on Apple Pie and Pumpkin Pie mushed into one in baby food form. SUCCESS!

IMG_6036Please pardon my nasty cuticles and focus your attention on the tasty green delight. I made my first batch of kale chips with 1 huge bundle rubbed with olive oil and covered w/ sea salt and nutritional yeast. baked at 375 for 15 minutes. wow. Blew my face off. The entire batch was gone within an hour… and it was not my doing alone! La Familia loved em’!

IMG_6037A random snack plate, including kale chips, romaine ‘chips’, carrots, sabra hummus, and an apple!

IMG_6040

new additions to the kitchen: Adam’s PB, Sunsweet Prunes, and Sabra! All of which I find utterly delicious.

Off to School! I will post later today hopefully! Have a great week!

One Response to “Pirates and Applesauce”

  1. Jenny Says:

    ay matey – that applesauce looks great!

    hmm I’ve never heard of Adam’s PB.. I’d love to hear how you like it 🙂


Leave a Reply

