The best thing about exercise

February 20, 2010

I think it’s a two way tie between a.) extreme soreness in the days to follow & b.) eating.

Speaking of eating, that’s how I immediately started my day, for I woke up with one hangry beast in my stomach.
IMG_7327

Blueberry Banana OIAJ (Oats in a jar), served in a jar’of’Jif. This was tasty, but I think my oatmeal-obsessive days are over. Truly, it just doesn’t do it for me anymore. Don’t hate me.
Today, my friend Amber and I bicycled from her house to downtown SLC and back. Approximately 16-18 miles, give or take. It’s a mix between uphill, downhill, and flat terrain. My lungs feel worked and my legs feel tired. It was an AWESOME day. And when I walked in the door, after defrosting my frozen fingers & toes (it was 38 degrees and a little breezy), I ate. and ate.

As I am in no position for any sort of weight loss, this long period of exercise was reason enough for my mom and I to check out how many calories I burned. My recommended intake ends up being 3,600 for today. Enough for an average person to gain a pound. And you know what? I was ECSTATIC. The more food, the merrier. I sit here, still a little hungry. I think I still have a good 1,000 calories to go… so that’s my exit cue! Happy Saturday! I’m off to see Shutter Island with one of my favorite ladies. I’m pumped.

12 Responses to “The best thing about exercise”

  1. Alison Says:

    that movie looks so cool,
    let me know how you like it!
    proud of you for really taking care of yourself.
    exercise is such a tricky thing at times…
    so glad you have such a positive attitude.
    keep it up girl!! :)

  2. Katie Says:

    Oh wow, girl! What a workout. It sounded fun, though! :) Awh man, I wish I could have seen that movie with my brother tonight. I will have to go sometime soon. I didn’t know it was a thriller. I loveeeee scary/thriller movies. Tell me how you liked it? :)

  3. lunchiemunchies Says:

    haha,love the attitude! Definitely great that you can see the importance of refuelling after such a lot of exercise. The bike ride sounds so much fun too.
    Love xx
    (It’s not so bad I guess that your oat obsession has left you, now you can branch out and try all sorts of new brekkies!)

  4. mayapamela Says:

    That’s such a positive way to look at it! Go forth and try lots of new foods! Make cookies and don’t worry about eating the dough!


  5. Sam, it’s so refreshing to hear about how you nourished yourself so well after such amazing exercise. Thank you for this :)

    I hope you enjoyed the movie!

  6. rustique Says:

    Ooh, enjoy Shutter Island! Movies like that freak me out (in the best way possible) more than slashers.

  7. Emily Says:

    man, that much exercise must feel exhilarating! I love feeling extremely sore, hungry, and powerful :)

    have fun seeing shutter island!
    xoxo


  8. sam you rock, pure and simple. this makes me so happy to read. this gives me the hugest wave of motivation.
    hope shutter island was good, i can’t decide if its too scary for me…
    happy sunday!
    xoxo
    ps-had a homemade chocolate chip cookie with my breakfast, just cause :)

  9. daintyvegan Says:

    Food is gooooood! I’m jealous of that bicycle workout of yours, sounds like it was amazing. I think that I really need a bike of my own.. the only thing is that the roads around here have barely any shoulder and I’m afraid that I would end up swerving into the ditch. Plus I get annoyed at all the bikers around here in the summer for exactly that reason – no shoulder and the roads are small. I would end up being annoyed at myself.
    That was a ramble..
    Anyways, I hope Shutter Island was good!

  10. Jenny Says:

    I secretly get super amped when my nutrish ups my calorie intake.. who doesn’t love eating more food? glad you’re embracing the yummy cals girlfriend. Love to you!

  11. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    so proud of you for getting in thos recommended cals- i agree, embrace it!!! that is fUN to et so much :) love it <3 you are amazing/inspirational.

    xoxooxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  12. Maria Says:

    Just found your blog. I look forward to reading it. Nice workout!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

