Braised & Butterflies

February 17, 2010

Let’s briefly talk about the latter. I’ve had quite a few fluttering around in my stomach, and let me tell ya, they’ve been gone for a while.  That’s all I have to say about butterflies today… maybe I’ll share some more on another day… What/who gives you butterflies?

Moving onto the braised

Last night, I tried out this new recipe.

Braised Red Cabbage with Apples, served atop a bed of spinach and cloud of quinoa.
IMG_7324
Dee-lish. And of course, I had to eat it with a Laughing Cow Wedge–naturally. This was both aesthetically pleasing and taste-bud-pleasing. Perfection! I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking into shaking up supper, perhaps with something a little sweeter.
IMG_7321

Who doesn’t love this color combination? I know my appetite does.

It also loves chocolate, bread & chocolate to be exact.
IMG_7320

The concept of bread and chocolate, infused together into a chocolate bar, is enough to make me purrrr. What’s your favorite Theo bar?

Sorry for the short post, but it’s been a hell’of’a week!

17 Responses to “Braised & Butterflies”

  1. katie Says:

    does laughing cow taste like swiss or cream cheese?

    • merittothecarrot Says:

      To me, it tastes more like cream cheese. But a little nuttier than normal cream cheese, hence the swiss flavor. so a hybrid between the two :)

  2. maya Says:

    wow, that recipe looks great! i love the sound of apple and cabbage with swiss cheese! and of course quinoa, is like the best grain :)

    LOVE theo! i have tried the mint, the bread and chocolate and the fig fennel and almond and the guana dark chocolate. ok. thats alot haha..well, i think my fav is def the bread and chocolate, die. so good, and the fig and fennel was amazing! i have 6 left from a package, i cant wait to try the coconut curry!

    Love this post, short and sweet is always nice :) butterflies, hmmm..always get them when i am to meet someone for the 1st time.

    xx
    maya

  3. Jenny Says:

    mind if I be super cliche for a minute? thanks. Every time I see Gingie for the first in time in awhile I get butterflies. Every.Single.Time. Oh, a promising bowl of oats give sme butterflies too. Wish I were joking.

  4. daintyvegan Says:

    Ahh, those Theo bars look so freaking amazing! I keep seeing them around the blogworld but I’ve yet to see them in a store. Hopefully they aren’t a US thing only.

    Butterflies.. those are rare for me. One guy gave me butterflies all the time but it’s sort of died down since I never see him and have realized that he’s not quite mature enough for me. Haha..

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) Says:

    bread and chocolate?! perfection!! and that dinner looks delicious too :)

    xoxox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. rustique Says:

    Reading a truly good passage in a book gives me butterflies–the kind of passage that you keep turning back to; the kind that reads like poetry even if it’s prose or, if it’s poetry, just seems to state something so uniquely that you can’t help but think of it every time thereafter. Books and I are are tight.


  7. butterflies!! can’t wait till you’re ready to share more ;)
    mm you are genius! its been ages since i’ve had cabbage, that looks so good!
    bread & chocolate–i want some!
    xoxo

  8. Emily Says:

    interesting combo – but it sounds amazing!

  9. Katie Says:

    I REALLY want to try these choc. bars!

  10. lunchiemunchies Says:

    We always have red cabbage and apple at xmas! Love it, especially the leftovers which seem to get even better. xxx


  11. Mmm.. I love red cabbage :)
    You truly have the ability to turn everything food related into a beautiful form of art! The photos.. the descriptions.. the combinations of flavours… every post seems to make me drool!

    I get butterflies around cute boys.. as I’m sure everyone can relate to :)

    xox
    Tat


  12. Mmm that recipe sounds delicious; a combination of flavors I love. Perfect harmony :)

    I get butterflies when I’m thrown into a situation where I don’t know what to expect… that, and meeting new people or having to do any kind of public speaking.

  13. mayapamela Says:

    I never considered just placing a laughing cow wedge on a dish like that, but it sounds like it definitely upped the ante! I’ll have to be more creative with Laughing Cow!

  14. Karin Says:

    Oh I should make that dinner – I have all ingredients at home and it looks amazing!
    Nothing gives me butterflies. I’m such a bore!

  15. Katharina Says:

    I LOVE RED CABBAGE!! I have an awesome recipe that I’d be more than happy to share :D I tried the bread & chocolate one and it was pretty damn good! You should really try the hazelnut crunch. OH MY GAHHH. And the chai tea milk chocolate just straight up melts in your mouth and then you taste all the different spices in there. So delicious. I love 3400 Phinney chocolates–my fave!

    XOXOX

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  16. maggie Says:

    What is it with these theo bars?! They look so delicious…but I cant find them anywhere. Butterflies? hmmm :)

    Maggie


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

